Third Party Administrator (TPA) Registration
A Third Party Administrator (TPA) who qualifies as an “administrator” under Section 8-301(b) of the Insurance Article must be registered with the Maryland Insurance Administration.
A TPA that is not an “administrator” under Section 8-301 because it only administers plans that are subject to ERISA, and neither provides benefits through insurance nor administers a multiple employer welfare arrangements, is not required to register as a TPA but instead, must provide the MIA with written notice that the person operates in Maryland, and evidence that they are complying with any applicable bonding requirements imposed by ERISA. A NAIC uniform application must be submitted along with verification the TPA will comply with ERISA bonding requirements. There is no fee.
Surety Bond: Applicants for an initial TPA Registration or a renewal must submit a current, original
surety bond unless:
- the Commissioner has granted a waiver;
- the applicant only administers plans under which benefits are paid only from the general
assets of an employee organization or of an employer; or
- the applicant is a corporation organized and authorized under the laws of the United States or a state to do business as an insurer or to exercise trust powers, is subject to supervision or examination by a federal or State authority, and continuously maintains combined capital and surplus in excess of $1,000,000.
The amount of the bond is determined at the time of application for registration or renewal, and is based on the average amount of money that the administrator or its predecessor handled in the prior year, and expects to handle in the current calendar year. The amount of the bond must be equal to at least 10% of the average amount of money that the administrator expects to handle at any one time for all plans administered during the year. The minimum bond amount is $5,000 and the maximum amount is $500,000. Refer to the Limited Lines Supplement form for guidance.
To apply for a registration the applicant must:
pay the applicable fee of $250.00;
complete and submit the NAIC Uniform Application;
complete and submit the Maryland Insurance Administration Limited Lines Supplement;
submit a current Surety Bond in the amount determined per the Limited Lines Supplement form. The surety bond or continuation certificate must clearly state:
- bond company and bond amount
- bond coverage period
- show the State of Maryland as the obligee
- duly executed by the principal/producer and bond company/attorney-in-fact
The registration term is for two years. TPA Registrations may be renewed up to 90 days prior to the expiration date.
The fee to renew a Third Party Administrator Registration is $65. This includes the $50 renewal fee and
the $15 fraud prevention fee. For up to one (1) year after the expiration date, registrations may reinstate ad expired registration by submitting the required application, documentation, and paying a reinstatement fee of $100. The applicants for a registration renewal must submit all of the same document requirements as an applicant for an initial registration.
An expired registrant who does not reinstate within one year after the expiration date shall be required to apply for a TPA as an initial applicant.
Applications may be submitted via:
- online through NIPR ( www.nipr.com). A confirmation email will be sent to the email address provided on the application when your online application has been received. Make note of the transaction number so you may reference this when sending additional documents or inquiring for status.
- or paper application, along with the fees and any additional documents, should be mailed to:
The Maryland Insurance Administration
Attn: Producer Licensing
200 Saint Paul Place, Suite 2700
Baltimore, Maryland 21202
*Payments should be in the form of a check, money order, or cashier’s check made payable to: Maryland Insurance Administration.
Submit with initial and renewal application:
Maryland Insurance Administration Limited Lines Licenses and Registrations SupplementMaryland Insurance Administration Form For A Business Entity To Update Owners, Partners, Officers, Directors, Members or TPA Principals
Third Party Administrator Surety Bond Template
(Copy of the new
original bond policy or continuation form may be used. The following are not acceptable proof of bond: rider for a face amount change, invoice and/or receipt.)Third Party Administrator Fraud Plan Packet
(requirement for submission of fraud plans under to HB 142)Note:
Regardless of who completes the application, the license applicant is ultimately responsible for the contents of the application and must provide accurate and complete information (if the application was completed by someone other than the applicant, the person who completes an application may also be held responsible for the contents of the application). An application that fails to disclose or fails to provide accurate information may result in the DELAY and/or DENIAL of the application. If your license has already been issued and it is later discovered that the information contained in your application is not true, correct, or complete, your license may be REVOKED and you may be subject to monetary PENALTIES (if the application was completed by someone other than the applicant, the person who completed the application may also be subject to administrative action). If in doubt, disclose.
In most cases, complete applications are processed in 7-10 business days. Incomplete applications may incur delays, be rejected/denied or not be processed. Incomplete applications pending over 120 days may be rejected.
Do a NAME SEARCH
to verify if your application has been approved. When you have your license number, go to PRINT LICENSE
to get a copy of your license. Fill in all search criteria to enable a successful search. Maryland does not send hard copies of licenses.
Note: All license or certificate fees are non-refundable and non-transferable whether the application has been approved, denied, cancelled, withdrawn, or when an applicant submits multiple applications for the same license or certificate.
Maryland Insurance Administration
Producer Licensing Customer Service: 1-888-204-6198
Producer Licensing Fax: (410) 468-2399
Producer Licensing Email: email@example.com