Maryland issues limited lines licenses to motor vehicle rental companies, including a franchisee of a motor vehicle rental company to sell insurance in connection with, and incidental to, the rental of a motor vehicle. A motor vehicle rental company includes any person that is in the business of providing motor vehicles to the public under a rental agreement for a period of 180 days or less.
INITIAL LICENSE APPLICATION:
To apply for a license, the applicant must:
- pay the applicable fee of $54, required by Insurance Article, § 2-112, Annotated Code of Maryland;
- complete and submit the NAIC Uniform Application.
- complete and submit the Maryland Insurance Administration Limited Lines Supplement
- complete and submit the Maryland Insurance Administration Limited Lines Register Form
- must submit and comply with the following:
- All motor vehicle rental insurance policies must been previously filed and approved
by the Commissioner.
- The motor vehicle company must hold an appointment with each authorized insurer that it intends to represent.
- All disclosures to the public about services provided under the coverage must be filed and approved by the Commissioner.
- All training program materials must be approved by the Commissioner.
- Depending upon the business entity type, each applicant must submit the demographic information for all of the Owners, Officers, Directors, Partners, Members, Managers, and/or Directors.
** Changes to any of the above must be immediately reported to the
Maryland Insurance Administration **
Licenses are issued to expire 2 years from the date of issuance.
The fee for the renewal license is $69, which includes the $15 fraud prevention fee. Licensees who fail to submit a timely renewal may reinstate for up to one year after the license has expired. Those renewing late must also include the $54, renewal fee, the $15 fraud prevention fee, and an additional $100 reinstatement fee.
ONLINE AND PAPER APPLICATION PROCESS:
Applications may be submitted via:
online through NIPR ( www.nipr.com
). A confirmation email will be sent to the email address provided on the application when your online application has been received. Make note of the transaction number so you may reference this when sending additional documents or inquiring for status.
or paper application, along with the fees and any additional documents, should be mailed to:The Maryland Insurance AdministrationAttn: Producer Licensing200 Saint Paul Place, Suite 2700Baltimore, Maryland 21202
* Payments should be in the form or a check, money order, or cashier’s check made payable to:Maryland Insurance Administration
NAIC Uniform Application Renewal Business EntitySubmit with initial and renewal application:Maryland Insurance Administration Limited Lines Supplement Form
Maryland Insurance Administration Limited Lines Licenses and Registrations Supplement.
Regardless of who completes the application, the license applicant is ultimately responsible for the contents of the application and must provide accurate and complete information (if the application was completed by someone other than the applicant, the person who completes an application may also be held responsible for the contents of the application). An application that fails to disclose or fails to provide accurate information may result in the DELAY and/or DENIAL of the application. If your license has already been issued and it is later discovered that the information contained in your application is not true, correct, or complete, your license may be REVOKED and you may be subject to monetary PENALTIES (if the application was completed by someone other than the applicant, the person who completed the application may also be subject to administrative action). If in doubt, disclose.
Supplement forms and/or inquiries may be submitted by email to email@example.com
In most cases, complete applications are processed in 7-10 business days. Incomplete applications may
incur delays, be rejected/denied or not be processed.
Do a NAME SEARCH to verify if your application has been approved. When you have your license
number, go to PRINT LICENSE to get a copy of your license. Fill in all search criteria to enable a
successful search. Maryland does not send copies of licenses.
Note: All license or certificate fees are non-refundable whether the application has been approved,
denied, cancelled, withdrawn, or when an applicant submits multiple applications for the same
license or certificate.
Maryland Insurance Administration
Producer Licensing Customer Service: 1-888-204-6198
Producer Licensing Fax: (410) 468-2399
Producer Licensing Email: firstname.lastname@example.org