Travel Insurance Limited Lines Producer License

General Information

 
Maryland issues limited lines producer licenses to individuals and business entities to sell travel insurance coverage.
The limited lines travel insurance producer shall establish and maintain a register on a form the Commissioner requires, of each travel retailer that offers and disseminates travel insurance on behalf of the limited lines travel insurance producer.
  • The register should include the name, address and contact information of the each travel retailerhe register should include the name, address and contact information of the each travel retailer
    including an officer or person who directs or controls the travel retailer’s operations and the travel retailer’s federal tax identification number.
  • The register shall be submitted to the Commissioner for inspection by the Commissioner as the
    Commissioner requires.
  • The limited lines travel insurance producers shall designate one of its employees who hold limited lines travel insurance license as a designated responsible person to ensure compliance with the laws and regulations for travel insurance in the State.he limited lines travel insurance producers shall designate one of its employees who hold limited lines travel insurance license as a designated responsible person to ensure compliance with the laws and regulations for travel insurance in the State.
*Changes to any of the above must be immediately reported to the
Maryland Insurance Administration*

Initial License Application

 
To apply for a license as a Producer, the applicant must:
  • pay the applicable fee of $54, required by Insurance Article, § 2-112, Annotated Code of Maryland;
  • complete and submit the MIA Limited Lines Register Form;
  • complete and submit the NAIC Uniform Application.
To apply for a license as an insurance producer, a business entity must:
  • pay the applicable fee of $54, required by Insurance Article, § 2-112, Annotated Code of Maryland;
  • complete and submit the MIA Limited Lines Register Form;
  • complete and submit the NAIC Uniform Business Entity Application which require applicants to:
      • submit any trade name to be used by the applicant and the name and residence address of any individual who holds a license and does business under the trade name;
      • rovide the name and address of each licensed producer employed by the business entity, each individual who has direct control over its fiscal management, and each owner, member, or manager of the business entity and each director of a business entity that is a corporation;rovide the name and address of each licensed producer employed by the business entity, each individual who has direct control over its fiscal management, and each owner, member, or manager of the business entity and each director of a business entity that is a corporation;
      • esignate a Maryland licensed insurance producer as its principal contact with the MIA.esignate a Maryland licensed insurance producer as its principal contact with the MIA.

Renewal Application

 

​Individual producer licenses are issued to expire on the last day of the producer’s birth month. Business entity licenses are issued to expire 2 years from the date of issuance.

For up to one (1) year after the expiration date, licensees may reinstate an expired license by submitting the required application, $54 renewal fee, $15 fraud prevention fee, and $100 reinstatement fee.

Online and Paper Application

 
Applications may be submitted via:
  • online through NIPR ( www.nipr.com). A confirmation email will be sent to the email address provided on the application when your online application has been received. Make note of the transaction number so you may reference this when sending additional documents or inquiring for status.
  • or paper application, along with the fees and any additional documents, should be mailed to:

    The Maryland Insurance Administration
    Attn: Producer Licensing
    200 Saint Paul Place, Suite 2700
    Baltimore, Maryland 21202

    *Payments should be in the form or a check, money order, or cashier’s check made payable to: Maryland Insurance Administration.
Application Forms
 
Note: Regardless of who completes the application, the license applicant is ultimately responsible for the contents of the application and must provide accurate and complete information (if the application was completed by someone other than the applicant, the person who completes an application may also be held responsible for the contents of the application). An application that fails to disclose or fails to provide accurate information may result in the DELAY and/or DENIAL of the application. If your license has already been issued and it is later discovered that the information contained in your application is not true, correct, or complete, your license may be REVOKED and you may be subject to monetary PENALTIES (if the application was completed by someone other than the applicant, the person who completed the application may also be subject to administrative action). If in doubt, disclose.
Supplement forms and/or inquiries may be submitted by email to producerlicensing.mia@maryland.gov
 


In most cases, complete applications are processed in 7-10 business days. Incomplete applications may incur delays, be rejected/denied or not be processed. Incomplete applications pending over 120 days may be rejected.

Do a NAME SEARCH to verify if your application has been approved. When you have your license number, go to PRINT LICENSE to get a copy of your license. Fill in all search criteria to enable a successful search. Maryland does not send copies of licenses.
Note: All license or certificate fees are non-refundable and non-transferable whether the application has been approved, denied, cancelled, withdrawn, or when an applicant submits multiple applications for the same license or certificate.
Maryland Insurance Administration
Producer Licensing Customer Service: 1-888-204-619
Producer Licensing Fax: (410) 468-2399
Producer Licensing Email: producerlicensing.mia@maryland.gov