How to Make Changes on a License

Q. How do I add or delete a line of authority to an existing Producer license?

A. Producers may add a line of authority to an active existing license online on NIPR. Nonresidents adding a line must hold the line in their resident state.

Residents adding Life, Health, Variable Life, Personal Lines, Property and/or Casualty line to an active Producer license must first successfully pass the appropriate exam. Allow 2-3 business days to process the exam results then view the license on NIPR to verify if the line of authority has been updated. Do not apply for a new producer license.

The Service Request Form found on our website (www.insurance.maryland.gov/Producer/Fees and Forms) may be used to modify lines of authority or cancel a license. A resident licensee who requested that a line of authority be cancelled will need to re-qualify to have the line/s added at a later date by successfully passing the appropriate exam.

There is no charge for adding a line of authority to an existing active license and the expiration date of the license will remain the same. Submit the Service Request Form via e-mail to producerlicensing.mia@maryland.gov.

Q. How can I change my address?

A. A licensee must notify the Administration within 30 days of the change. This includes an email address as MIA sends notifications electronically. Failure to timely inform the Commissioner of a change of address is a violation of the Insurance Code and is subject to disciplinary action, including a fine.

Individual Licensees may change their addresses, including email addresses, using the Contact Change Request (CCR) feature at www.nipr.com. Business entities must submit the change of address to MIA.

NOTE: Address changes resulting in residency status changes are not permitted online.

Change of address notification may be emailed to producerlicensing.mia@maryland.gov; faxed (410) 468-239; or mailed to:

The Maryland Insurance Administration
200 Saint Paul Place, Suite 2700
Attn: Producer Licensing
Baltimore, Maryland 21202

Q. How do I change my name?

A. The Service Request Form is used to process a name change, including Trade Name. The completed form, along with supporting documents, may be sent via email, fax or mail.
Individual licensees must submit a copy of a marriage certificate, divorce decree, or court order. Business Entities must attach confirmation that the name change has been registered with the State of Maryland Department of Assessment and Taxation. Nonresidents must have already reported the change of name to their resident state.

Q. How do I update the Designated Responsible Person on a business entity license?

A. Business Entities may change the Designated Responsible Person by submitting the Association-Designated Responsible Person Form. The forms may be sent via mail, fax or email.

Q. How do I update/affirm an association with an agency?

A. Licensees may change or affirm their association by submitting the Association-Designated Responsible Person Form. The forms may be sent via mail, fax or email.

Q. How do I update/affirm the Owners, Officers, Partners, Directors of a business entity license?

A. Business Entities may change or affirm the Owners, Officers, Partners, Directors or Members of the firm by submitting the Owners, Officers, Partners, Directors or Members Form. The forms may be sent via mail, fax or email.

Maryland Insurance Administration
Producer Licensing Customer Service: 1-888-204-6198
Producer Licensing Fax: (410) 468-2399
Producer Licensing Email: producerlicensing.mia@maryland.gov