MIA Commissioners Through History

Kathleen A. Birrane​


Al Redmer, Jr.​

Therese M. Goldsmith 2011-2015
Ralph S. Tyler 2007-2010
R. Steven Orr 2006-2007
Al Redmer, Jr. 2003-2005
Steven B. Larsen 1997-2003
Dwight K. Bartlett III 1993-1997
John A. Donaho 1989-1993
E. Susan Kellogg 1988-1989
Edward J. Muhl 1983-1987
Edward J. Birrane, Jr. 1977-1982
Thomas J. Hatem 1971-1976
Newton I. Steers, Jr. 1967-1970
Norman Polovoy 1966-1967
Francis B. Burch 1965-1966
F. Douglass Sears     1959-1965
Charles S. Jackson   1952-1959
Harvey M. Chesney*   1951-1952
Claude A. Hanley     1947-1951
Lawrence E. Ensor    1943-1947
John B. Gontrum   1939-1943
Wesley S. Hanna   1935-1939
William C. Walsh   1931-1935
Harrison Rider    1929-1931
Carville D. Benson  1924-1929
Harvey L. Cooper     1922-1924
Thomas J. Keating     1919-1922
W. Mason Shehan  1912-1919
Emerson C. Harrington   1910-1912
Benjamin F. Crouse    1905-1910
Frank I. Duncan   1905
Lloyd Wilkinson   1900-1905
F. Albert Kurtz    1896-1900
Thomas B. Townsend     1895-1896
L. Freeman Raisin    1893-1895
J. Fred. C. Talbot  1891-1893
Jesse K. Hines     1877-1891
John A. Miller*    1876-1877
Charles A. Wailes*  1872-1876

*died in office


Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information