Initial Maryland Certificate of Authority

In accordance with Title 4 of the Insurance Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, an insurer must apply for a certificate of authority issued by the Commissioner in order to engage in the insurance business in Maryland. The applicant will file a Uniform Certificate of Authority Application (UCAA) as developed by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. The application can be found HERE​.

For insurers formed under the laws of Maryland, a company will file a primary application. An existing insurer applying for a certificate of authority to engage in the insurance business in Maryland will file an expansion application.

Applicants should refer to the Annotated Code of Maryland for additional requirements.

The Maryland Certificate of Authority for all fully licensed NAIC companies and dental plans expires annually on June 30. The Certificate of Authority should be renewed online between April 1 and June 30 in accordance with §§ 4-112, 6-203 and 14-408 of the Insurance Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland. If your company filed its Certificate of Authority renewal application late last year (i.e., after June 30), you must renew your certificate of authority on or before June 1 this year to avoid a penalty for late renewal in accordance with § 4-112 of the Insurance Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland.

The certificate of authority renewal process for fully licensed NAIC companies and dental plans can be completed online without attaching any certificates or other paperwork. This online process also will include the Workers’ Compensation Law Compliance Certification. You will be required to pay using a Visa, MasterCard or eCheck. There is no extra charge for renewing online. If you renew by credit card, the charge on your statement will be shown as “Maryland Insurance Administration.”

How to Renew Your Certificate of Authority Online

Before you login to renew, please read the following instructions:

You will enter your MIA User ID and password that were provided previously to you. Each company is associated with a unique UserID/Password combination. The system will not allow you to renew more than one company using the same UserID/Password combination.

  • You must complete all required fields in order to save your record and proceed to the License Renewal and Payment screen.
  • If you fail to complete all required fields, you will not be able to continue with your online renewal, and you will get an error message.You will be allowed to review your information before continuing on to the payment process.
  • Before submitting your credit card or eCheck information, be sure you review the information to ensure that it is correct.
  • Please be sure to print the confirmation screen for your records. This will be your proof of renewal.

Login for Online Company Certificate of Authority Renewal 

License Renewal Fees


Application Type Renewal Date Renewal Period Renewal Fee
Dental Plan July 1 One year $1,100

Fraternal Benefit Society

July 1 One year Varies *
Life, Accident and Health Company July 1 One year $1,500
Property and Casualty Insurer July 1 One year $1,500
Title Insurer July 1 One year $1,500

* Under § 6-203 of the Insurance Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, the Fraud Prevention Fee for  fraternal benefit societies will vary based on premium levels.

 (a) Insurers and other entities -- For each insurer, health maintenance organization, nonprofit health  service plan, fraternal benefit society, or any entity operating in the State under the regulatory jurisdiction  of the Commissioner other than a premium finance company, a fraternal benefit society that collected  less than $ 75,000 in premiums in the preceding calendar year, or a motor club, the fraud prevention fee  shall be:

    (1)$ 1,000;

   (2) due on or before June 30 of each year; and


   (3) if applicable, payable with the certificate of authority or license renewal fee.

Unable to Renew Your Certificate of Authority Online?

All insurers are expected to utilize the online company licensing renewal process. However, if there are extenuating circumstances that will not allow you to renew online, you may renew your certificate of authority by submitting a paper application.

Click on the links below to download the application.

Application for Insurer's Certificate of Authority 

The paper application should be mailed with a check for the appropriate fees made payable to the Maryland Insurance Administration.  Renewal application packages should be sent to:

Maryland Insurance Administration
ATTN:  Company Licensing Unit
200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700
Baltimore, MD  21202

An insurer may submit its renewal application any time after April 1st, but the new certificate of authority may not be mailed until the last week of June.

If you have questions or need help with this license renewal process, please contact:

Company Licensing
Phone: 410-468-2104

Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information