Insurance companies seeking to become eligible as surplus insurers must
apply under Sections 2-112, 3-318 and 6-203 of the Insurance
Article, Annotated Code of Maryland
For initial eligibility, companies are required to submit the following:
* If your company is approved as an accredited reinsurer and a surplus line insurer, total payment due is $3,000.Minimum financial requirement is policyholders’ surplus equal to the greater of the minimum capital and surplus required under the laws of the domiciliary jurisdiction or $15,000,000, effective July 1, 2011.
Filings and fees must be received on or before June 30 for annual renewal.If you have any questions, contact Rena Moody at:Maryland Insurance AdministrationCompany Licensing UnitPhone: 410-468-2106Fax: 410-468-2112Documents and fees should be submitted to:Maryland Insurance AdministrationCompany Licensing200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700Baltimore, MD 21202
200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700, Baltimore, MD 21202
410-468-2000 | 1-800-492-6116 (toll free) | 1-800-735-2258 (TTY)