
Maryland automobile insurance policies include coverage for property damage and bodily
injury caused by uninsured and underinsured motorists (UM/UIM).  This is a mandatory
coverage required by Maryland law. The amount of this coverage will be the same as the
amount of your liability coverage, unless you specifically choose a different amount, and will
always be at least at the state minimum requirements of $30,000 per person/$60,000 bodily
injury per accident when there is more than one person injured and $15,000 property damage .
  
If your automobile insurance policy has higher limits, then generally, your uninsured and
underinsured motorist limits will be higher and will be the same as your liability coverage
amounts. For example, if your liability limits are $100,000/$250,000 for bodily injury and
$50,000 for property damage, then your uninsured and underinsured limits will be
$100,000/$250,00 for bodily injury, $50,000 for property damage, 
unless you choose different limits.  Your uninsured and 
underinsured coverages will not apply if you are found at 
fault for the accident, even partially, regardless if the other
 driver is uninsured or underinsured. For instance, you are 
backing out of a parking space at the mall. Another car is 
also backing out and you back into each other. In this 
case, both drivers may be found to be at-fault for the 
accident. Even if the other driver is uninsured, your 
insurance company may deny coverage under your 
uninsured motorist coverage.
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  Liability coverage is the part of your policy that pays for damages or injuries
of another person when you are found to be at-fault.
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What if the driver that caused the accident doesn’t have enough insurance coverage to fully
pay your claim? In this case, your underinsured motorist coverage may provide additional
payments if your coverages are higher than the at-fault driver’s.  If you carry underinsured
coverage that is higher than the state minimum, your insurer will issue a payment for the
balance of your damage and may negotiate an additional settlement if you are injured, up to
your policy limits. However, if you and the other driver both carry the minimum amount of
coverage, you cannot receive any additional payments from your insurer. The amounts can’t
be “stacked.” That means the coverage amounts can’t be added together. The most you can
be paid by both insurers in total is the maximum amount of your coverage.

Let’s break this down:

Same applies for bodily injury (BI) claims:
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If you and the other driver both carry the minimum
amount of coverage, you cannot receive any

additional payments from your insurer. 

https://insurance.maryland.gov/
https://www.facebook.com/MDInsuranceAdmin
https://www.linkedin.com/company/maryland-insurance-administration/
https://www.instagram.com/marylandinsuranceadmin/
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLlgoHh4Po1J0TEXelqO_liLAokln_JTXV
https://nextdoor.com/news_feed
https://insurance.maryland.gov/
https://twitter.com/MD_Insurance
tel:+1-800-492-6116
tel:+800-492
https://insurance.maryland.gov/


As an example of the above comparison, let’s assume both you and the driver who caused
the accident have property damage limits of $15,000. Your car is found to be a total loss. The
at-fault driver’s insurance company agreed that their insured was responsible and offered to
pay you the full amount of their property damage coverage but the value of your car is
$25,000. Because your coverage amount is the same as the at-fault driver, you are not
entitled to an additional payment under your policy’s uninsured and underinsured coverage.
Again, the amounts cannot be “stacked” and your insurance company owes nothing for this
loss.  There are two options from which you can choose to protect yourself in case you are
involved in a loss with an underinsured motorist. The first option would be to choose limits
higher than the state minimum. So, instead of the minimum of $15,000 property damage,
$30,000/$60,000 bodily injury amounts of coverage, you could select a higher amount of
coverage. The other way is to carry something called Enhanced Underinsured Motorist
coverage (EUIM). 

Should you carry higher limits or enhanced underinsured motorist coverage? If you decide to
carry higher limits, one advantage would be that you may be better protected in the event
you have an accident and are found to be at fault.  If you don’t have enough coverage to
settle the claim, you may be held personally responsible for the additional amount of the
property damage and bodily injury settlement.  Carrying higher limits may increase your
premium.

Choosing enhanced underinsured motorist coverage will allow you to carry the state
minimum amount of coverages, however, this option will also cause an increase in your
premium.  You should speak with your trusted insurance producer, that is your agent or
broker, to determine which is the best option for you. When speaking with your insurance
producer or insurance company, consider asking for quotes for a policy that includes higher
liability and uninsured and underinsured coverages, and also a quote for a policy with
enhanced underinsured motorist coverage. Once you have prices for both, underinsured and
enhanced underinsured motorist, you may want to ask for advice as to which would better
serve your needs and offer you the best coverage while keeping your premiums affordable
for you.
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Currently, automobile insurance policies are issued with the standard underinsured motorist
coverage, again matching your liability coverages. Enhanced underinsured motorist
coverage is an optional coverage you must specifically ask to be added to your policy.
Beginning July 1, 2024, however, that will change for all newly issued automobile insurance
policies.  After that date, enhanced underinsured motorist coverage will become the default
selection, and if you do not want to carry enhanced underinsured motorist coverage, you will
need to “opt out.”  This means you should let your insurance producer know if you don’t want
enhanced underinsured motorist coverage, and you will need to sign an opt out form saying
you don’t want enhanced underinsured motorist coverage. If you do not sign this form,
enhanced underinsured motorist coverage will be added to your policy and your premium
will be increased to pay for this coverage. Enhanced underinsured motorist coverage will not
be added to existing policies at this time, only new policies.

For additional information on the coverages provided by an automobile insurance policy,
you may speak with your insurance producer or visit our website at insurance.maryland.gov.

This consumer guide should be used for educational purposes only. It is not intended to provide legal advice or opinions regarding coverage under a specific
insurance policy or contract; nor should it be construed as an endorsement of any product, service, person, or organization mentioned in this guide. Please
note that policy terms vary based on the particular insurer and you should contact your insurer or insurance producer (agent or broker) for more information.  
This publication has been produced by the Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA) to provide consumers with general information about insurance-related
issues and/or state programs and services. This publication may contain copyrighted material which was used with permission of the copyright owner.
Publication herein does not authorize any use or appropriation of such copyrighted material without consent of the owner. All publications issued by the MIA
are available free of charge on the MIA's website or by request. The publication may be reproduced in its entirety without further permission of the MIA
provided the text and format are not altered or amended in any way, and no fee is assessed for the publication or duplication thereof. The MIA's name and
contact information must remain clearly visible, and no other name, including that of the insurer or insurance producer reproducing the publication, may
appear anywhere in the reproduction. Partial reproductions are not permitted without the prior written consent of the MIA. Persons with disabilities may
request this document in an alternative format. Requests should be submitted in writing to the Director of Communications at the address listed above.
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