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INITIAL PRODUCER LICENSING 

 
 

◘ Maryland issues licenses to individuals and business entities to act as Producers, Surplus Lines Brokers, 
Insurance Advisers, Public Adjusters, and Third Party Administrators.  Licensed business entities can be 
corporations, professional associations, partnerships, limited liability companies, limited liability partnerships or 
other legal entities.   

 
◘ Producers must be licensed in each major line for which they sell, solicit or negotiate insurance. Maryland issues 

licenses for the following six (6) major lines of insurance: (1) Life; (2) Accident, Health, or Sickness (3) 
Property; (4) Casualty; (5) Variable Life and Annuity Products; and (6) Personal Lines of Property and Casualty.  
In addition to the six major lines, Maryland issues seven (7) different types of limited lines licenses:  (1) Motor 
Vehicle; (2) Credit Insurance; (3) Travel (4) Title Insurance; (5) Motor Vehicle Rental Company; (6) Health 
Maintenance Organizations; and (7) Portable Electronics. 
 
Note:  The Travel Insurance line of authority is issued to individuals ONLY. 

 
◘ To qualify for a license as an insurance producer, an individual  must: 

 pay the applicable fee of $54, required by § 2-112 of the Insurance Article, 
 complete and submit the NAIC Uniform Individual Application.   
 

Applications may be submitted via paper or electronically through NIPR ( www.nipr.com). Paper applications 
are normally processed within 3-5 business days and should be mailed to: 

 

The Maryland Insurance Administration 
Attn: Producer Licensing 200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700 

Baltimore, Maryland 21202 
 

Note:  The Maryland Supplement is only required to be filed for those requesting a Title Insurance line of 
authority, applying for a Surplus Lines license, or nonresidents requesting a limited line of authority not issued 
by Maryland. 

 
◘ Resident individual applicants requesting a major line of authority or the Title Insurance line of authority are 

required to complete Maryland’s pre-licensing education requirements and pass the Maryland exam for the 
line(s) requested.   

 
◘ PSI is the Maryland Insurance Administration’s current vendor for Pre-Licensing and Examination Services.  

You may view approved pre-licensing providers and courses, schedule an examination, or download a copy of 
the Maryland Candidate Information Bulletin on their website, www.psiexams.com.  

 
◘ Nonresidents will be issued a license on a reciprocal basis if the nonresident holds a valid license for the same 

line of authority in the home state, is in good standing, submits the uniform application, and pays the applicable 
fee and the home state awards nonresident licenses to residents of Maryland on the same basis.  

 
 

◘ To qualify for a license as an insurance producer, a business entity must: 
 pay the applicable fee of $54, required by § 2-112 of the Insurance Article; 
 complete and submit the NAIC Uniform Business Entity Application.  Applications may be 

submitted via paper at the address listed above for individuals, or electronically through NIPR 
(www.nipr.com); 

 submit any trade name to be used by the applicant and the name and residence address of any 
individual who holds a license and does business under the trade name;  

 provide the name and address of each licensed producer employed by the business entity, each 
individual who has direct control over its fiscal management, and each owner, member, or manager 
of the business entity and each director of a business entity that is a corporation; 

 designate a Maryland licensed insurance producer as its principal contact with the MIA.  
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Note: Each individual who solicits, negotiates, or accepts insurance business from the public must be 
licensed in that line of insurance, and if applicable, hold an appointment from an insurer. 

INITIAL PRODUCER LICENSING (cont.) 
 

 
 

◘ Individual producer licenses are issued to expire on the last day of the producer’s birth month.  Business entity 
licenses are issued to expire 2 years from the date of issuance.   

 
 
Individuals holding the following designations are exempt from the pre-licensing requirements, but still must successfully pass 
the Maryland exam for the line(s) requested. 
 
 

Individuals requesting Property or Casualty who hold one of the designations below may be granted a waiver from 
pre-licensing education and experience requirements. 
 
 

Accredited Adviser in Insurance (AAI) Associate in Risk Management (ARM) 

Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC) Chartered Property  Casualty Underwriter (CPCU) 

Fellow of the Casualty Actuarial Society  
 

 
Individuals requesting Life who hold one of the designations below may be granted a waiver from  
pre-licensing education requirements. 
 
 

Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU) Certified Employee Benefit Specialist (CEBS) 

Fellow of the Society of Actuaries Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC) 
Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC) Certified Financial Planner (CFP) 

Fellow of the Life Management Institute (FLMI) Life Underwriter Training Council (LUTCF) 
 

 
Individuals requesting Health who hold one of the designations below may be granted a waiver from pre-licensing 
education requirements. 
 
 

Registered Health Underwriter (RHU) Certified Employee Benefit Specialist (CEBS) 
Registered Employee Benefit Consultant (CEBS) Health Insurance Associate (HIA) 
 

 

 


