
MARYLAND INSURANCE ADMINISTRATION PRODUCER LICENSING 
 

VIATICAL SETTLEMENT BROKERS AND PROVIDERS REGISTRATION 
 

 
◘ A Viatical Settlement Broker is required to have an active producer license with the Life line of authority.  
 
◘ If the Viatical Settlement Broker is a business entity, the business entity must be a licensed producer with the Life 
     line of authority. Additionally, the business entity is required to identify an individual to act as the business 
     entity’s principal contact with the Administration. This person must be a licensed insurance producer with the  
     Life line of authority and registered as a Viatical Settlment Broker.  

 
◘ Maryland law requires that any person who acts as or represents itself as a viatical settlement provider in the 
     State be registered as a viatical settlement provider. Viatical settlement providers enter into or effectuate viatical  
     settlement contracts.  
 

◘ Anti-Fraud Plans: Section 27-804 of the Maryland Insurance Article requires all Viatical Settlement Providers 
     (VSP) to maintain and file with the Commissioner “an antifraud plan reasonably calculated to detect, prosecute,      
     and prevent fraudulent viatical settlement acts.” 

     Within 30 days of instituting or modifying such a plan, the VSP shall notify the Commissioner in writing and    
     provide a copy thereof to the Insurance Fraud Division of the Maryland Insurance Administration. Such plans  
     filed with MIA shall be privileged and confidential, and not deemed a public record. 
 
    For details as to what such a plan shall include, see the statutory provision.   
 
    Checklist:  Viatical Fraud Plans 
 
 
INITIAL LICENSE APPLICATION:  
 
◘ To apply for a registration as a Viatical Broker, an individual must:                  
  pay the applicable fee of $250.00; 
  complete and submit the Maryland Limited Lines Supplement Form; 
  complete and submit the NAIC Uniform Individual Application.                                                  
  
◘ To apply for a registration as a Viatical Broker, a business entity must:                                                           
  pay the applicable fee of $250.00; 
  complete and submit the Maryland Limited Lines Supplement Form;  
  complete and submit the NAIC Uniform Business Entity Application which require applicants to : 
   submit any trade name to be used by the applicant and the name and residence address of any  
      individual who holds a license and does business under the trade name;                                                  
   provide the name and address of each licensed producer employed by the business entity, each  
      individual who has direct control over its fiscal management, and each owner, member, or  
      manager of the business entity and each director of a business entity that is a corporation; 
   designate a Maryland Life licensed insurance producer as its principal contact with the MIA. 
 
◘ To apply for a registration as a Viatical Settlement Provider, the applicant must:                  
  pay the applicable fee of $ 1,000.00; 
  complete and submit the NAIC Uniform Individual Application.       
  complete and submit the Maryland Limited Lines Supplement Form 
 
 

http://www.insurance.maryland.gov/Producer/Documents/viaticalproviderantifraudplanlaw_27-804.pdf
http://www.insurance.maryland.gov/Producer/Documents/fraud-plan-checklist-for-viaticals.pdf
http://www.insurance.maryland.gov/Producer/Documents/viaticalproviderantifraudplanlaw_27-804.pdf
http://www.insurance.maryland.gov/Producer/Documents/fraud-plan-checklist-for-viaticals.pdf


 
 
 
RENEWAL APPLICATION: 
                               
◘ A Viatical Settlement Broker registration expires the same day as the expiration of the underlying Producer   
    Life license.  
 
◘ A Viatical Settlement Provider registration expires 2 years after the date of issuance.  
 
◘ The fee to renew a Viatical Settlement Broker or a Viatical Settlement Provider registration is $50.  
 
◘ ◘ The Applicants for a license renewal must submit all of the same document requirements as an applicant for     
    an initial registration. 
 
ONLINE AND PAPER APPLICATION PROCESS:  
 
◘ Applications may be submitted via: 
 
  online through NIPR ( www.nipr.com). A confirmation email will be sent to the email address   
    provided on the application when your online application has been received. Make note of the    
    transaction number so you may reference this when sending additional documents or        
    inquiring for status. 

 

 or paper application, along with the fees and any additional documents,  should be mailed to: 

The Maryland Insurance Administration 
Attn: Producer Licensing  

200 Saint Paul Place, Suite 2700 
Baltimore, Maryland 21202 

      *Payments should be in the form or a check, money order, or cashier’s check  made payable to:   
     Maryland Insurance Administration. 
 

  NAIC Uniform Application Initial Individual     NAIC Uniform Application Initial Business Entity        

   NAIC Uniform Application Renewal Individual     NAIC Uniform Application Renewal Business Entity    

   
Submit with initial and renewal application: 

 Maryland Insurance Administration Limited Lines Licenses and Registrations Supplement. 
 

 Note: Regardless of who completes the application, the license applicant is ultimately responsible for 
 the contents of the application and must provide accurate and complete information (if the application 
 was completed by someone other than the applicant, the person who completes an application may 
 also be held responsible for the contents of the application).  An application that fails to disclose or fails to 
 provide accurate information may result in the DELAY and/or DENIAL of the application.  If your license 
 has already been issued and it is later discovered that the information contained in your application is 
 not true, correct, or complete, your license may be REVOKED and you may be subject to monetary 
 PENALTIES (if the application was completed by someone other than the applicant, the person who 
 completed the application may also be subject to administrative action).  If in doubt, disclose. 
.    
 
Supplement forms and/or inquiries may be submitted by email to producerlicensing.mia@maryland.gov 

mailto:producerlicensing.mia@maryland.gov


 
In most cases, complete applications are processed in 7-10 business days.  Incomplete applications may 
incur delays, be rejected/denied or not be processed.  
 
Do a NAME SEARCH to verify if your application has been approved. When you have your license number, go to 
PRINT LICENSE to get a copy of your license. Fill in all search criteria to enable a successful search. Maryland 
does not send copies of licenses.   
 
 Note: All license or certificate fees are non-refundable whether the application has been approved, 
 denied, cancelled, withdrawn, or when an applicant submits multiple applications for the same 
 license or certificate. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Maryland Insurance Administration 
Producer Licensing Customer Service 1-888-204-6198 Producer Licensing Fax  (410) 468-2399 
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