MARYLAND INSURANCE ADMINISTRATION PRODUCER LICENSING

TITLE PRODUCER LICENSES FROM NON-RECIPROCAL STATES

The Maryland Insurance Administration has identified the following states that are not reciprocal with Maryland for title insurance producer licensing:

Alabama	Delaware	New Mexico	Texas
Alaska	Florida	Nevada	Utah
Arkansas	Iowa	Oregon	Washington
Arizona	Idaho	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
California	Kentucky	South Dakota	
Connecticut	Massachusetts	Tennessee	

New York is reciprocal for title insurance agent, not sub licensee.

Rev. 3/2022

The State of Maryland does not accept applications from producers who submit a designated home state license.

Initial Individual Applicants

Initial individual applicants from non-reciprocal states requesting a title insurance producer license are required to complete pre-licensing course and pass the Maryland exam.

PROMETRIC is the MIA's vendor for pre-licensing services. For information regarding pre-licensing providers and courses please visit <u>www.sircon.com</u>. (Look Up Courses or Transcript/Approved Providers Inquiry) or call 1-800-324-4592.

To schedule your examination visit PROMETRIC at <u>www.prometric.com/maryland/insurance</u> or call 1-800-610-1174. You can also download the <u>License Information Bulletin</u> from the PROMETRIC website.

Once licensed, non-resident title producers from non-reciprocal states will be required to complete 16 hours of Maryland continuing education in order to renew their Maryland non-resident title producer license. The Maryland continuing education requirement is in addition to any continuing education required by the home state.

The vendor for Maryland continuing education is Prometric. The website link for information regarding course offerings or to view your continuing education transcript is <u>www.Sircon.com</u>. The 16 hours of continuing education consists of 3 hours of ethics and 13 hours of title courses. Non- residents are required to provide their Maryland license numbers to the course provider in order to be given the Maryland CE credits for course completion.

Licensed Non-resident Title Insurance Producers

Effective January 1, 2018, title producers who have already been issued a Maryland non-resident title license from non-reciprocal states will be required to complete 16 hours of Maryland continuing education in order to renew their Maryland non-resident title producer license. The Maryland continuing education requirement is in addition to any continuing education required by the home state.

The vendor for Maryland continuing education is Prometric. The website link for information regarding course offerings or to view your continuing education transcript is <u>www.Sircon.com</u>. The 16 hours of continuing education consists of 3 hours of ethics and 13 hours of title courses. Non-residents are required to provide their Maryland license numbers to the course provider in order to be given the Maryland CE credits for course completion.

MARYLAND INSURANCE ADMINISTRATION PRODUCER LICENSING

Please see the <u>Title Insurance Producer</u> section on our website (<u>www.insurance.maryland.gov</u>) for additional initial and renewal information, required forms and templates.

- Bond Requirement Applicants for a Title Insurance Producer's License are required to submit a \$150,000 blanket surety bond or letter of credit and a \$150,000 blanket fidelity bond.
- Employees or persons associated with a Title Agency must submit the Association form.
- Title Insurance Producer Independent Contractors (TIPIC) must submit an <u>Affidavit of Title Insurance Producer</u> <u>Independent Contractors</u>.
- Employees of Insurers must submit an employment verification letter on Insurer letterhead.

Applications may be submitted through NIPR (<u>www.nipr.com</u>). A confirmation email will be sent to the email address provided on the application when your online application has been received. Make note of the transaction number and include it when sending additional documents or inquiring for status. Additional required Title documents may be uploaded to the NIPR Warehouse or emailed to <u>titleproducerlicense.mia@maryland.gov</u>.

Applications may also be submitted via paper by completing and mailing the initial or renewal NAIC Uniform Application along with the corresponding application fee.

Paper applications are normally processed within 7-10 business days. Payments should be in the form or a check, money order, or cashier's check made payable to: Maryland Insurance Administration and should be mailed to:

The Maryland Insurance Administration Attn: Producer Licensing 200 Saint Paul Place, Suite 2700 Baltimore, Maryland 21202