### MARYLAND INSURANCE ADMINISTRATION PRODUCER LICENSING

# ADVISER LICENSING: INITIAL AND RENEWAL LICENSES

■ Maryland issues Adviser licenses to resident and nonresident individuals who, among other things, are trustworthy and competent to act as advisers.

Note: Advisers cannot receive "compensation from an insurer or insurance producer for the sale or placement of insurance." (Insurance Article, § 10-208, Annotated Code of Maryland)

■ Resident applicants for the Adviser License must pass the examination for the Adviser Life/Health or the Adviser Property/Casualty, unless the applicant qualifies for a waiver of the examination requirement.

Individuals requesting the **Adviser Life/Health** authority who actively hold one of the designations below may be granted a waiver of the examination requirement.

Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU)	Certified Employee Benefit Specialist (CEBS)
Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC)	Certified Financial Planner (CFP)

Individuals requesting the **Adviser Property/Casualty** authority who actively hold one of the designations below may be granted a waiver of the examination requirement.

Fellow of the Casualty		Chartered Property and Casualty
Actuarial Society	(CIC)	Underwriter (CPCU)

■ There is no pre-licensing education required to register for the exam. 1	Please contact our examination vendor, PSI
at 1-800-733-9267 or visit www.psiexams.com to schedule the exam or	download a copy of the Candidate
Information Bulletin	

The examination results are valid for 6 months. If the candidate does not apply for the appropriate license
within 6 months, the examination results will expire. The candidate will need to re-take the examination to
be eligible to apply for a license.

- Nonresident licenses may be issued to applicants who hold an adviser's license in the nonresident's state of residence and are qualified to act as insurance advisers.
- Nonresidents whose state of residence does not issue an Adviser License or the equivalent must take and pass the Maryland Adviser exam.

## INITIAL LICENSE APPLICATION:

■ To apply for a license as an Adviser, an individual must:	
pay the applicable fee of \$100 or \$200, required by Insurance Article, § 2-112, Annotated Coo	le of
Maryland;	
☐ complete and submit the NAIC Uniform Individual Application *	
☐ a resident candidate must submit an original \$1,000 surety bond;	
a resident candidate submit all forms of statements, receipts, and agreements to the Commission	ner for
approval and filing;	

\*Resident applicants requesting an <u>examination waiver to qualify for an initial Adviser license</u> must submit a paper application along with the letter of good standing issued by the organization conferring the designation.\*

\*Non-residents applying for an initial license must submit a paper application.\*

## RENEWAL APPLICATION:

- Insurance Adviser Licenses expire on June 30<sup>th</sup> of every other year, and may be renewed 90 days prior to the license expiration date.
- The fee to renew an Insurance Adviser license is \$215, which includes the \$200 renewal fee and the \$15 fraud prevention fee (§ 2-112).
- Resident licensees must be in compliance with the \$1,000 Surety Bond requirement to qualify for approval of the renewal application.
- On or before September 30<sup>th</sup> of the renewal year, those with expired license may reinstate. In addition to the renewal fee and fraud prevention fee, the applicant must remit the applicable reinstatement fee, as set forth below:

\$25 for reinstatement during the period from July 1 <sup>st</sup> through July 31st	
\$50 for reinstatement during the period from August 1 <sup>st</sup> through August 31st	
\$75 for reinstatement during the period from September 1 <sup>st</sup> through September 30th	

#### ONLINE AND PAPER APPLICATION PROCESS:

Online applications are submitted through NIPR ( <a href="www.nipr.com">www.nipr.com</a> ). A confirmation email will be sent to
the email address provided on the application when your online application has been received. Make
note of the transaction number so you may reference this when sending additional documents or when
inquiring on the status.
*All renewals may be submitted online*

☐ Paper applications in PDF format are available below. The completed application along with the bond information and any other documents should be mailed to:

The Maryland Insurance Administration Attn: Producer Licensing 200 Saint Paul Place, Suite 2700 Baltimore, Maryland

\*Payments should be in the form or a check, money order, or cashier's check made payable to: **Maryland Insurance Administration.** 

NAIC Uniform Application Initial Individual NAIC Uniform Application Renewal Individual

**Note:** Regardless of who completes the application, the license applicant is ultimately responsible for the contents of the application and must provide accurate and complete information (if the application was completed by someone other than the applicant, the person who completes an application may also be held responsible for the contents of the application). An application that fails to disclose or fails to provide accurate information may result in the DELAY and/or DENIAL of the application. If your license has already been issued and it is later discovered that the information contained in your application is not true, correct, or complete, your license may be REVOKED and you may be subject to monetary PENALTIES (if the application was completed by someone other than the applicant, the person who completed the application may also be subject to administrative action). **If in doubt, disclose.** 

Supplement forms and/or inquiries may be submitted by email to producerlicensing.mia@maryland.gov.

In most cases, **complete** applications are processed in 7-10 business days. Incomplete applications may incur delays, be rejected/denied or not be processed.

Do a <u>NAME SEARCH</u> to verify if your application has been approved. When you have your license number, go to <u>PRINT LICENSE</u> to get a copy of your license. Fill in all search criteria to enable a successful search. Maryland does not send copies of licenses.

Note: All license or certificate fees are non-refundable whether the application has been approved, denied, cancelled, withdrawn, or when an applicant submits multiple applications for the same license or certificate.