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Call to order: A joint meeting of the Producer Licensing Life & Health Advisory Board and the 

Producer Licensing Property & Casualty Advisory Board was held at the Maryland Insurance 

Administration on June 12, 2018.  The meeting convened at 10:03 and was called to order by Erica

Bailey. 

Attendance was taken and MIA staff members were introduced. The covered topics and summaries 

are listed below.  

Life/Health Advisory Board Property/Casualty Advisory Board 

Last Name First Name Present (Yes/No) Last Name First Name Present (Yes/No) 

Cohen Stephanie Yes Demetriou Ted Yes 

Timothy Daniels Yes Kellner Laura Yes
Frazier Audrey No Langford Rebekah Phone 

Huber Cynthia Yes Mettee Donald Yes
Kafes Edward Yes Micciche John Yes
Riley James Phone Moody II Christopher No
Tegeler Harvey Phone Pelkofsky Richard No 

Wilson Venus Yes Quamina Courtney Yes
Langrall Jr. Clarke Phone Slavin Scott Yes 

Richards Megan Yes 

Maryland Insurance Administration Staff Attendees: 

Last Name First Name Last Name First Name 

 Bailey Erica  Brillante Lorelei 

 Arnold Darlene  Gordon Lauren 

Gross Jeffrey Grant Beverly
Donahue William Zeigler-Palmer Stephanie

Meeting Topics and Summaries 

Opening Remarks 

Associate Commissioner Erica Bailey began the meeting with an introduction and greeting to attendees. Director of 

Producer Licensing, William Donahue provided opening remarks, announced MIA staff members in attendance, and 

made a motion to approve the previous minutes.  There was a motion to approve the previous minutes, seconded and 

the motion passed. 

License Examination and Application Policy 
The Producer Licensing unit has proposed a policy change that would require a resident license applicant to pass the 
exam within 3 months and submit the license application within 6 months thereafter. The current policy requires 
applicants to pass the exam within one year and apply for the license within two years after passing. This means an 
applicant may have up to three years to obtain a license from the time he/she initially passes the exam. The 
PAB members agreed that a fair amount of time should be 6 months to pass the exam and 6 months to submit the 
license application thereafter.

CE Reporting
The Producer Licensing unit has proposed a regulatory change that would allow sanctions to be placed on CE 
providers who fail to report CE within 15 days. Most continuing education providers report in less time but some 
exceed 15 days. Currently, the MIA has no authority other than to suspend or revoke the provider. The proposed 
regulation would enable the MIA to assess an administrative penalty of $100-$500 per violation.

http://www.doit.state.md.us/phonebook/IndDetails.asp?EmpID=7438489&OID=1487
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Non-Resident Licensees
The Producer Licensing Unit proposed a statutory change that would require non-resident producers to maintain a 
a valid license in their home state. The current legislation does not specify that resident licenses must be 
maintained. It only states the resident license must be active when the Maryland non-resident license application 
is submitted. The new statute would permit the MIA to cancel the non-resident license if the producer's resident 
license is no longer active.
Proposed Legislation
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The Administration requested feedback from the PAB members regarding whether or not it is deemed necessary 
to place a limit on first year commissions for annuity sales. The consensus was that there are already sufficient 
safeguards and barriers in place from the carrier side to ensure that agents are following business guidelines 
appropriately and ethically.

The Administration also requested feedback concerning implementing a fingerprint requirement for all new 
producer applications. Many other licensed professionals are required to complete fingerprinting and 
background checks. The MIA currently relies on self-disclosure but we are looking into requiring preliminary 
screening for new resident applicants and the costs associated with this process. The PAB members agreed that 
if producers are handling monies, they should be fingerprinted.

Miscellaneous Announcements
The PL unit has contacted the pre-licensing vendor to develop a course for public adjuster applicants to prepare 
for the exam. At this time, there is no pre-licensing available for public adjusters.

Title producers are required to complete 13 hours of property and casualty and/or title courses. Producer licensing 
will be changing this requirement to 13 hours of only Title courses now that there is an abundance of courses 
available. This is not including 3 hours of ethics all producers are required to complete.

Flood events have caused the need for a bulletin to inform consumers they are able to purchase flood coverage 
even if they do not reside in flood zones.  The bulletin will be released on June 12, 2018.  

The next PAB meeting will include a presentation from an organization to discuss the potential advantages of 
changing from a 2-part to a 1-part exam.
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At 11:41 a.m. a motion was made to adjourn the meeting, seconded and the motion passed.

The meeting was adjourned. 


