
 
 
 
 
 

Bulletin  11-18 
 

Date:  August 17, 2011 
 
To: All Property & Casualty Insurers 
 
Re: Code of Maryland Regulations: Title Fee Increases 

Change Effective July 1, 2011 
 
 
This Bulletin is to advise Property and Casualty insurers that effective July 1, 2011, the Maryland 
Motor Vehicle Administration ("MVA") increased the amount charged for a title fee from $50.00 to 
$100.00.  This increase in the title fee will result in a greater cost when declaring a vehicle a total loss. 
Please consult the following page on the MVA's website for further information concerning this 
increase at http://www.mva.maryland.gov/2011-legislation.htm. 

200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700  Baltimore, Maryland 21202 
Direct Dial:  410-468-2029     Fax: 410-468-2430 

Email: jhatchette@mdinsurance.state.md.us 
1-800-492-6116   TTY: 1-800-735-2258  

MARTIN O’MALLEY 
Governor 

 
 
 

ANTHONY G. BROWN 
Lt. Governor 

THERESE M. GOLDSMITH 
Commissioner 

 
 

BETH SAMMIS 
KAREN STAKEM HORNIG 

Deputy Commissioners 
 

 

 
Code of Maryland Regulations ("COMAR") 31.15.12.04 A.(2) and 31.15.12.04 B.(2) require that the 
applicable taxes and transfer fees pursuant to COMAR 11.11.05, which include the title fee, be 
included as part of a total loss settlement offer for a claim involving a private passenger motor vehicle.  
These regulations require that Property and Casualty insurers include applicable taxes and transfer fees 
in a settlement offer regardless of whether or not the claimant retains salvage rights.  
 
In light of the increase in the title fee, please ensure that you have updated your method of calculating 
a vehicle’s value and that you are compensating claimants/policyholders in accordance with Maryland 
Law.  Please also refer to COMAR 11.11.05 for the most current list of applicable taxes and transfer 
fees. 
 
If you have any questions regarding this Bulletin, please contact Joy Hatchette, Associate 
Commissioner, Consumer Education and Advocacy by telephone at (410) 468-2029 or by e-mail at 
jhatchette@mdinsurance.state.md.us. 
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Commissioner 
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