
Title 31 MARYLAND INSURANCE ADMINISTRATION 

Subtitle 06 TAXES AND FEES 

Chapter 04 Premium Tax — Required Filings, Payments, Penalties, and Interest 

Authority: Insurance Article, §§2-109, 6-101—6-103, and 6-106—6-109, Annotated Code of Maryland 

.01 Scope. 

This chapter applies to any person who is subject to the taxation of premiums in the State under Insurance Article, §§6-101 

and 6-102.1, [§6-101,] Annotated Code of Maryland. 

.02 Declaration of Estimated Tax and Quarterly Payments. 

A. Each taxpayer subject to premium tax under Insurance Article, §6-101, Annotated Code of Maryland, shall declare an 

estimated annual tax if the taxpayer's total tax for the current tax year is reasonably expected to exceed $1,000. 

B.- E. (text unchanged)  

.03 Final Report. 

A. (text unchanged)  

B. The Final Report of premium taxes required under Insurance Article, §6-107, Annotated Code of Maryland, shall contain: 

(1) – (4) (text unchanged)  

C. On or before March 15 following the end of the tax year, the Assessment Form shall be filed to report the assessment 

amount pursuant to Insurance Article, §6-102.1, Annotated Code of Maryland, and shall contain: 

(1) A report of the gross amount of all health and accident & health insurance premiums written during the preceding 

calendar year; 

(2) An itemization of allowed excluded premiums during the preceding calendar year; 

(3) A calculation of the assessment; and 

(4) Any other information or documentation required by the Commissioner.  

[C.] D. Remittance. 

(1) The taxpayer shall remit the following with the Final Report required by §B of this Regulation:  

(a) The total amount of premium tax due, after crediting the amount of taxes paid under Regulation .02 of this chapter; 

and 

(b) Any retaliatory tax due under COMAR 31.06.02. 

(2) – (3) (text unchanged)  

(4) An entity subject to assessment pursuant to Insurance Article, §6-102.1, Annotated Code of Maryland, shall remit the 

assessment amount due with the Assessment Form as required by §C of this Regulation.  

(5)  The payment of premium taxes as required by §D(1) of this Regulation and the payment of the assessment as required 

by §D(4) of this Regulation shall be remitted separately and not combined in one remittance. 

(6) A managed care organization may remit quarterly payments of the assessment required by Insurance Article, §6-102.1, 

Annotated Code of Maryland, equal to at least 25 percent of the assessment due on or before March 15, June 15, September 15, 

and December 15. 

 

 
 


