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(b) Within 14 calendar days after the form was mailed, the
requesting person shall file the completed form and any supporting
documentation.

(4) If it determines that the person is indigent, the Office shall
grant the requested fee waiver or waivers.
[F.] C. The Office [shall have the power to] may modify or waive
any time periods established by this chapter for good cause.

.07 [Penalty for] Failure to Pay Required Fees.

A. [Failure to pay the] Unless a waiver is granted under
Regulation .06 of this chapter, failure to pay a required filing fee [or,
if the fee waiver is requested, to provide documentation required in
Regulation 06 of this chapter] may result in the dismissal of a
[party’s] person’s request for a hearing,

B. [Failure to pay the] Unless a waiver is granted under
Regulation .06 of this chapter, failure to pay a required subpoena
processing fee [or, if a fee waiver is requested, to provide the
documentation requested in Regulation .06 of this chapter] may result
in a subpoena not being issued.

.08 [Refund of Filing Fee] Refunds of Fees.
A. [Refund)] Refunds.

(1) [If a party receives a favorable decision, the party shall
receive a refund of the filing fee.] Except as provided in §A(2) of this
regulation, the Office shall refund a filing or subpoena processing fee
if the person that paid the fee receives a favorable decision.

(2) [Fees paid for subpoenas that have been issued may not be
refunded.] The Office shall not refund:

(a) Fees that were waived under Regulation .06 of this
chapter; or
(b) Processing fees for subpoenas that were issued.

[B. The Office shall process and mail a refund of the filing fee
within 30 days.

C. A refund shall be processed when:]

B. The Office shall process and mail a refund within 30 days
after:

(1) [A party] The person that paid the fee receives a
favorable decision [from the presiding administrative law judge];

(2) The presiding [administrative law judge signs a
certification of] 4LJ certifies the favorable decision; and

(3) The [party signs a form verifying the party’s] person that
paid the fee provides a cotrect mailing address and other information
required by the Office.

[D. If a party has received a filing fee waiver under Regulation .06

of this chapter, a refund may not be paid.]

THOMAS DEWBERRY
Chief Administrative Law Judge
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Title 31
MARYLAND INSURANCE
ADMINISTRATION

Subtitle 04 INSURERS

31.04.22 Title Insurers

Authority: Insurance Article, §§2-108, 2-109, 10-121, and 10-128.1,
Annotated Code of Maryland

Notice of Proposed Action
[19-219-P]
The Insurance Commissioner proposes to amend Regulations .03
and .04 under COMAR 31.04.22 Title Insurers.

Statement of Purpose
The purpose of this action is to amend COMAR 31.04.22.03 and
.04 to bring regulations into alignment with Insurance Article, §10-
121, Annotated Code of Maryland. The proposed amendments
correct an outdated statutory reference, add a definition, and clarify
that a licensed insurance producer is required to sign the certification
under COMAR 31.04.22.04B(7).

Comparison to Federal Standards
There is no corresponding federal standard to this proposed action.

Estimate of Economic Impact
The proposed action has no economic impact.

Economic Impact on Small Businesses
The proposed action has minimal or no economic impact on small
businesses.

Impact on Individuals with Disabilities
The proposed action has no impact on individuals with disabilities.

Opportunity for Public Comment
Comments may be sent to Lisa Larson, Regulations Manager,
Maryland Insurance Administration, 200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700,
Baltimore, MD 21202, or call 410-468-2007, or email to
insuranceregreview.mia@maryland.gov, or fax to 410-468-2020.
Comments will be accepted through November 25, 2019. A public
hearing has not been scheduled.

.03 Definitions.
A. (text unchanged)
B. Terms Defined.
(1) — (5) (text unchanged)
(6) “Designated responsible licensed producer” means a
licensed insurance producer who is:
(a) Responsible for the principal agent’s compliance with
insurance laws, rules, and regulations; and
(b) Listed as a designated or responsible licensed producer
on:
(i} The principal agent's wuniform business entity
application; or
(ii) The Association/Responsible Individual Designation
Jorm filed with the Commissioner.
[(6)] (7) — [(23)] (24) (text unchanged)

.04 Conducting an On-Site Review.
A. (text unchanged)
B. The on-site review required under §A of this regulation shall, at
a minimum, include:
(1) — (6) (text unchanged)
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(7) Receipt of the written certification of the principal agent
which shall contain:

(a) The printed name and signature of a designated
[insurance] responsible licensed producer or an attorney of the law
firm who is a licensed title insurance producer, If the principal agent
is a law firm as defined by Insurance Article, §10-125(a)(3),
Annotated Code of Maryland [who satisfies the qualifications set
forth in §10-121(c)];

(b) The date the [principal agent signed the] certification
was signed; and

(¢) (text unchanged)

C. —E. (text unchanged)
ALFRED W, REDMER, JR.
Insurance Commissioner

Subtitle 06 TAXES AND FEES

31.06.04 Premium Tax—Required Filings,
Payments, Penalties, and Interest

Authority: Insurance Article, §§2-109, 6-101—6-103, and 6-106—6-109,
Annotated Code of Maryland

Notice of Proposed Action
[19-205-P]
The Insurance Commissioner proposes to amend Regulations
.01—.03 under COMAR 31.06.04 Premium Tax—Required
Filings, Payments, Penalties, and Interest.

Statement of Purpose
The purpose of this action is to amend COMAR 31,06 to clarify
the required reports to be filed and the fees to be paid in accordance
with statutory changes made during the 2019 legislative session. Ch,
598 (S.B. 239), Acts of 2019, amended Insurance Article, §6-102.1,
Annotated Code of Maryland, and this action incorporates and
clarifies these changes in the regulations.

Comparison to Federal Standards
There is no corresponding federal standard to this proposed action,

LEstimate of Economic Impact
The proposed action has no economic impact.

Economic Impact on Small Businesses
The proposed action has minimal or no economic impact on small
businesses.

Impact on Individuals with Disabilities
The proposed action has no impact on individuals with disabilities.

Opportunity for Public Comment
Comments may be sent to Lisa Larson, Regulations Manager,
Maryland Insurance Administration, 200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700,
Baltimore, MD 21202, or call 410-468-2007, or email to
insuranceregreview.mia@maryland.gov, or fax to 410-468-2020.
Comments will be accepted through November 25, 2019, A public
hearing has not been scheduled.

.01 Scope.

This chapter applies to any person who is subject to the taxation of
premiums in the State under Insurance Article, [§6-101] §§6-101 and
6-102.1, Annotated Code of Maryland,

.02 Declaration of Estimated Tax and Quarterly Payments,

A. Each taxpayet subject to premium tax under Insurance Article,
$6-101, Annotated Code of Maryland, shall declare an estimated
annual tax if the taxpayetr’s total tax for the current tax year is
reasonably expected to exceed $1,000.

B.—E. (text unchanged)

.03 Final Report.

A. (text unchanged)

B. The Final Report of premium taxes required under Insurance
Article, §6-107, Annotated Code of Maryland, shall contain:

(1)—(4) (text unchanged)

C. On or before March 15 following the end of the tax year, the
Assessment Form shall be filed to report the assessment amount
pursuant to Insurance Article, §6-102.1, Annotated Code of
Maryland, and shall contain:

(1) A report of the gross amount of all health and accident &
health insurance premiums written during the preceding calendar
year;

(2) An itemization of allowed excluded premiums during the
preceding calendar year;

(3) A calculation of the assessment; and

(4) Any other information or documentation required by the
Commissioner.

[C.] D. Remittance,

(1) The taxpayer shall remit the following with the Final Report
required by $B of this regulation:

(a)—(b) (text unchanged)

(2)—(3) (text unchanged)

(4) An entity subject to assessment pursuant to Insurance
Article, §6-102.1, Annotated Code of Maryland, shall remit the
assessment amount due with the Assessment Form as required by §C
of this regulation.

(5) The payment of premium taxes as required by §D(1) of this
regulation and the payment of the assessment as required by §D(4) of
this regulation shall be remitted separately and not combined in one
remitiance.

(6) A managed care organization may remit quarterly
paymenis of the assessment required by Insurance Article, §6-102.1,
Annotated Code of Maryland, equal to at least 25 percent of the
assessment due on or before March 15, June 15, September 15, and
December 15.

ALFRED W.REDMER, JR.
Insurance Commissioner
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