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Why is Credit Important?



Credit Reporting Bureaus

• Their job is to gather and organize pertinent information about 
you and your credit history. 

• There are many bureaus. They do not contain identical info.



What’s On Your Credit Report?



Consumer Access to 
Credit Reports

Free Credit Monitoring!

 www.annualcreditreport.com: One 
free report each year from each of the 
three major credit bureaus. 

 Adverse action: When denied for 
credit or favorable terms. 

MD law also allows free report per year

COVID 19 = Free reports weekly until 
April 2022

http://www.annualcreditreport.com/


Credit Scores
• A number based on the 

analysis of an individual’s 
credit report that 
represents their 
creditworthiness.

• Same info in a report 
used

• Helps lenders efficiently 
judge creditworthiness



Cost of Credit Score Exercise (Small Loan)

• 760 - 850
• 680 - 759
• 620 - 679
• 580 - 619 
• 300 - 579 

10%
12%
14%
38%
N/A

36 Mo PERSONAL LOAN of $2,000 FOR NEW LAPTOP
Interest for highest credit score tier= $323

Interest for lowest tier= $1,422 
Opportunity Cost: $1,099

Credit Score Interest Rate



Where Can You Retrieve Your Credit Score?

 Is it on your credit report? No (typically not).

 Do the reporting bureaus have it? Yes, but it’ll cost you!

 What about Credit Karma? Yes, but there’s  a catch?

 Then WHERE!? You can try…
 Your Bank
 Your Credit Card Company



Building 
Credit

• Secured Credit Card

• Unsecured Credit Card

• Installment Loan



Keep it Active! Establish and maintain a mix 
of at least three active installment and 
revolving credit tradelines – ALWAYS PAY ON 
TIME!

Keep it Low! Lower debt balances on 
revolving lines of credit. 

Keep it Up! You want at least six months of 
credit history -- and activity! -- on your 
credit report at any time.

Best Practices for Strong Credit Scores



THANK 
YOU!

Sue Rogan
Sue@cashmd.org

mailto:Sue@cashmd.org


UNDERSTANDING  YOUR  RIGHTS:

CHECK  CASHING ,  

CONSUMER  LOANS ,  AND  

STUDENT  LOAN  SERVICING

Office of the Commissioner of Financial Regulation,

Maryland Department of Labor

Meredith Merchant, Director of Outreach and Education

April 7, 2021



The views expressed in this presentation are those of the

presenter(s) alone and do not necessarily reflect the

position of the Commissioner of Financial Regulation or

the Secretary of the Maryland Department of Labor. 

This presentation contains general information only, and is

not legal or financial advice.

Office of the Commissioner of Financial Regulation - Maryland Department of Labor
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CHARTER, LICENSE, REGISTER

Responsible for chartering, licensing and

registering certain individuals and businesses

providing financial services to Maryland

consumers.

EXAMINE, INVESTIGATE, SUPERVISE

Conducts periodic examinations and

investigations to ensure compliance with state

and federal laws and regulations, including

investigating consumer complaints.

The Office of the Commissioner of
Financial Regulation is Maryland ’s

consumer financial protection agency

and financial services regulator .

ABOUT OUR

OFFICE

Office of the Commissioner of
Financial Regulation, MD LABOR



REGULATED

INDUSTRIES

AND

ACTIVITIES

CHARTERED, LICENSED OR
REGISTERED BUSINESSES

Maryland-chartered banks and credit unions

Mortgage lenders, servicers, brokers

Mortgage loan originators

Check cashers and money transmitters

Collection agencies

Consumer and installment lenders

Consumer credit reporting agencies

Debt management and credit services

Sales financing companies ... and more!

ADDITIONAL AUTHORITIES

Student Loan Ombudsman

Foreclosure relief consultants...  and more!

Office of the Commissioner of
Financial Regulation, MD LABOR



CHECK

CASHING

SERVICES

WHAT IS A CHECK CASHER?

A business that accepts or cashes, for

compensation, payment instruments

(checks) for consumers.

LICENSE OR REGISTRATION
REQUIREMENTS

A license is required, unless the check

cashing service is incidental to the

retail sale of goods or other services, in

which case registration is required.

Office of the Commissioner of
Financial Regulation, MD LABOR



CHECK CASHING: 

 FEE LIMITS AND

REQUIREMENTS

FEE LIMITS

If government-issued, the greater of 2% or $3

If personal check, the greater of 10% or $5

If other type, the greater of 4% or $5

One-time membership fee cannot exceed $5

For registered check cashers, the greater of

1.5% or $5 for all payment instruments

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Business must provide receipt to consumer

with transaction date, check amount (face

value), fee charged, net paid to consumer

Business must conspicuously post notice

with fees and the contact info for our Office

Office of the Commissioner of
Financial Regulation, MD LABOR

NOTE: This list is not exhaustive.



CONSUMER

LOANS

WHAT IS A CONSUMER LENDER?

A consumer lender is a business that

makes any loan or advance of money or

credit under the Maryland Consumer Loan

Law; includes certain companies offering

personal or unsecured loans. Most

consumer lenders must be licensed.

WHAT IS A "PAYDAY LOAN"?

A payday loan is a term used to describe a

short-term, high-interest consumer loan,

sometimes referred to as a “cash advance”,

regardless of whether payment of the loan

is linked to a borrower’s payday. 

Office of the Commissioner of
Financial Regulation, MD LABOR



Office of the Commissioner of
Financial Regulation, MD LABOR

CONSUMER LOANS:  

INTEREST RATES

AND RESTRICTIONS

INTEREST RATE CAPS

First $1,000 of a loan $2,000 or less, max

interest rate is 2.75% per month or 33% APR

Next $1,000 of a $2,000 loan, max interest rate

is 2% per month or 24% APR

For loans greater than $2,000, max interest

rate is 2% per month or 24% APR on entire

amount of loan.

ADDITONAL RESTRICTIONS

A business issuing loans for $25,000 or less

must generally abide by interest rate caps

(certain exceptions may apply).

Something as simple as cashing a post-dated

check can be a loan under Maryland law.

NOTE: This list is not exhaustive.



STUDENT LOAN

SERVICING

WHAT IS A STUDENT LOAN
SERVICER?

A student loan servicer collects and

processes student loan payments from

the consumer on behalf of the secured

party or lender. 

STUDENT LOAN OMBUDSMAN

Maryland's Student Loan Ombudsman

serves as a liaison between student loan

borrowers and servicers, and investigates

consumer complaints about student loan

servicers.

Contact the Ombudsman by email at

studentloan.ombudsman@maryland.gov.
Office of the Commissioner of

Financial Regulation, MD LABOR



MARYLAND

STUDENT LOAN

BORROWER'S BILL

OF RIGHTS

Office of the Commissioner of
Financial Regulation, MD LABOR

YOUR RIGHTS AS A STUDENT LOAN
BORROWER IN MARYLAND INCLUDE
(BUT ARE NOT LIMITED TO):

You may not be subjected to conduct that is

intended to mislead you or otherwise treat

you in an unfair, abusive or deceptive way. 

You have the right to accurate and

transparent information about your loan. 

Your payments must be accurately applied

and Servicers must correct misapplied

payments.

You have the right to have your student loan

information accurately reported to

consumer credit reporting agencies.

Read the complete Student Loan Borrower's Bill of Rights at
www.labor.maryland.gov/consumers/frslbillofrights.shtml.



Payment forbearance for federally-backed
mortgages, must request before June 30, 2021;

and prohibition on new foreclosures until May

4, 2021; and more details on our website...

STUDENT LOAN RELIEF

Automatic payment forbearance and

suspension of collection activities, until

September 30, 2021 (federal loans only).

MORTGAGE RELIEF AND
FORECLOSURE MORATORIUM

MORE  COVID-19  FINANCIAL  RELIEF

INFORMATION  ON  OUR  WEBSITE :

www.labor.maryland.gov/finance/consumers/frcovid.shtml

COVID-19

FINANCIAL

RELIEF 

Office of the Commissioner of
Financial Regulation, MD LABOR



DO  YOU  HAVE  A

COMPLA INT  ABOUT

A FINANCIAL

SERVICES  PROVIDER

OR  ACTIVITY?

PLEASE VISIT OUR WEBSITE AT WWW.LABOR.MARYLAND.GOV/FINANCE 

OR EMAIL DLFRCOMPLAINTS-LABOR@MARYLAND.GOV.

Office of the Commissioner of
Financial Regulation, MD LABOR

mailto:DLFRComplaints-LABOR@maryland.gov


OFFICE  ADDRESS

500 N. Calvert Street, Suite 402

Baltimore, MD 21202

PHONE  NUMBER

(410) 230-6100

E-MAIL  ADDRESS

DLFRFinReg-LABOR@maryland.gov

CONTACT US

WEBSITE

www.labor.maryland.gov/finance

Office of the 

Commissioner of 

Financial

Regulation

mailto:DLFRFinReg-LABOR@maryland.gov


Auto Insurance in Maryland

Patricia Dorn
Consumer Education and Advocacy Unit

patricia.dorn@maryland.gov



Agenda: Auto Insurance

• What is the Maryland Insurance Administration?
• What is auto insurance
• Comparison shop
• If you’re in an automobile accident
• Filing an auto insurance protest or complaint
• Contact Information



What is the Maryland Insurance Administration
The Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA) is 
the state agency that regulates insurance in 
Maryland.  The MIA:
Licenses insurers and insurance producers 
(agents or brokers).
Examines the business practices of licensees to 
ensure compliance.
Monitors solvency of insurers.
Reviews/approves insurance policy forms.  
Reviews insurance rates to ensure rates are not 
inadequate, excessive or unfairly discriminatory.
Investigates consumer and provider complaints 
and allegations of fraud.

Video: How the MIA can help

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OJHG1vxhqos&list=PLlgoHh4Po1J0TEXelqO_liLAokln_JTXV&index=57


What is the Maryland Insurance Administration?

• If you feel that your insurer or insurance producer acted improperly, you 
have the right to file a complaint. Examples of improper actions include:

• Improperly denying or delaying payment of all or portions of a claim;
• Improperly terminating your insurance policy;
• Raising your insurance premiums without proper notice; 
• Making false statements to you in connection with the sale of insurance or 

processing of insurance claims; and,  
• Overcharging you for services, including premium finance charges.



What is Auto Insurance?

Auto insurance is a contract between you 
and the insurer that protects you against 
financial loss. In exchange for you paying a 
premium, the insurer agrees to pay for 
certain covered losses as described in your 
policy.



Auto Insurance Coverage
Liability Insurance – protects policyholders and other insureds when they 
cause an accident. There are two types of liability coverage:

Bodily injury liability coverage – Protects you if the driver of your car causes 
an accident and an injured person makes a claim or files a lawsuit against 
you, unless the driver of your car is excluded or does not have a reasonable 
belief they are entitled to drive your vehicle.

Property damage liability – Protects you if the driver of your car causes an 
accident resulting in damage to someone else’s property, like another 
vehicle or other property, such as a fence, unless the driver of your car is 
excluded or does not have a reasonable belief they are entitled to drive your 
vehicle.



Auto Insurance Coverage

• $30,000 for bodily injury per person
• $60,000 bodily injury per accident; 

and
• $15,000 property damage

Maryland law requires 
all registered vehicle 

owners to carry a 
minimum amount of 

liability coverage.  The 
coverage required by 

law is:



Auto Insurance Coverage

Uninsured Motorist (UM) coverage – protects you and other insureds under your policy’s terms when an 
accident is caused by a driver who does not have auto insurance coverage, does not have enough liability 
insurance, or when the owner of the at fault vehicle cannot be identified such as in the case of a hit-and-
run.  

• $30,000 for bodily injury per 
person

• $60,000 bodily injury per 
accident; and

• $15,000 property damage

Maryland Law 
requires all 

registered vehicle 
owners to carry a 
minimum amount 

of UM.  The 
coverage required 

by law is:



Auto Insurance Coverage

What happens if I have a lapse in my auto insurance coverage?

Maryland law requires that you maintain the required minimum coverage at all 
times while the vehicle is registered. The Motor Vehicle Administration will assess 
a penalty for every day that you do not maintain minimum coverage. 

More details are available on the Motor Vehicle Administration’s website at:

Auto Insurance Requirements in Maryland



Auto Insurance Coverage

Collision Coverage – an optional coverage that you purchase to 
provide for payment of property damage to your insured vehicle 
from a collision with another vehicle or object. If you are in an 
accident and have collision coverage, your insurer will pay to repair 
your vehicle or will pay you what your vehicle was worth right 
before the accident occurred if your vehicle is a total loss. 

Comprehensive Coverage – pays for damage to your car resulting 
from causes other than a collision, like vandalism, theft, or storm 
damage. 

Typically, both collision and comprehensive coverage have a 
deductible.



Comprehensive Coverage

• When it comes to auto insurance coverage, Comprehensive Coverage 
provides you the coverage for property damage to your insured vehicle 

resulting from occurrences other than collision.

• Flooding

• Theft

• Vandalism 

• Glass breakage not resulting from an accident

• A vehicle striking an animal 



Auto Insurance Coverage

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) - provides reimbursement for medical 
expenses arising from a motor vehicle accident for injuries to you, 
your passengers, or a pedestrian struck by your vehicle.   It will also 
cover lost wages and other related expenses arising from a motor 
vehicle accident. Maryland law requires insurers to offer 
policyholders at least $2,500 in PIP.   You may elect to purchase 
limited PIP coverage and certain individuals may be able to fully 
reject PIP coverage.



Comparison Shop

Comparison shop by looking to see if you can obtain those same 
coverages from another insurer at a lower cost.

• Make sure you compare policies that offer the same types of 
coverage with the same deductibles and coverage limits.

• Make sure the information you provide is accurate and that you 
provide the same information to each insurer you call.

• Ask about deductibles and when they apply.



Comparison Shop

• Ask about what is covered and what is excluded.

• Do not buy an insurance policy based solely on its price – consider 
the coverages, limits and the customer service, including claims 
service before you buy.

• Ask friends and neighbors about their experience with difference 
insurers



Introduction to our Rate Guide



Introduction to our Rate Guide

*Indicates those 
insurers that 

consider credit 
scores in 

determining 
premiums.

n/a = Insurers that 
do not have rates 
available based on 
the criteria in the 
scenario such as 

an at-fault 
accident



Introduction to our Rate Guide

This guide lists those insurers writing the greatest number of insurance policies in 
Maryland. Individuals may not qualify for coverage with all insurers. Affiliated insurers 
have different underwriting standards. Within a group of insurers (i.e. State Farm or 
Allstate), consumers are placed in the affiliated insurer based on their risk level. 

*indicates those insurers that use credit scores in determining premiums

Scenario 11: Single Female, Age 50



This brochure is available on our website at:
Auto Insurance: A Comparison Guide to Rates

or by calling us at 800-492-6116 to request a copy. 
Rates are updated in the guide every February and August.

Insurer phone numbers and websites are available in the back of the book.

Introduction to our Rate Guide

https://insurance.maryland.gov/Consumer/Documents/publications/AutoRateGuide2020.pdf


If  you’re in an Automobile Accident
• Dial 911 if needed and give the operator information about the 

incident and if any medical assistance or towing is needed.
• Take pictures or draw a diagram of the scene if it safe to do so.
• Remove the vehicle from the roadway and off to the side if possible.
• Talk to witnesses. Obtain names, addresses, and phone numbers.
• Cooperate with the police.  Provide all information requested. Write 

down your incident/accident number and the officer’s name and 
badge number.

• Write down the location and time of the accident. Exchange 
information with all involved in the accident as well as insurance 
information. 

• Contact your insurer as soon as possible and provide all information 
as requested.



If you receive a Notice of Premium Increase or a non-renewal notice pertaining
to your auto policy in Maryland, you have the right to file a protest and have your 
situation investigated.

Video: Protesting an Auto Rate Increase

The MIA also established a Rapid Response Program designed to help certain
consumers resolve property and casualty claims (such as auto) quickly and
without having to file a formal written complaint. For more information about
this program, please contact us at 410-468-2340 or 800-492-6116 ext. 2340.
Participation in the Rapid Response Program is voluntary and does not affect your
right to file a formal complaint.

Consumers may also file a complaint by going online to the Maryland Insurance
Administration’s web site at www.insurance.maryland.gov. Under Consumers,
click File a Complaint. 

Filing an Auto Insurance Protest or Complaint

http://www.insurance.maryland.gov/


Publications Available on the MIA’s Website

• A Consumer Guide to Auto Insurance

• Tips on Shopping for Automobile Insurance

• Understanding your Automobile Insurance Declarations Page

• Auto Insurance: A Comparison Guide to Rates (August 2020)

• An Insurance Preparedness Guide for Natural Disasters

https://insurance.maryland.gov/Consumer/Documents/publications/autoinsuranceguide.pdf
https://insurance.maryland.gov/Consumer/Documents/publications/autoshoppingtips.pdf
https://insurance.maryland.gov/Consumer/Documents/publications/understandingautodeclarationspage.pdf
https://insurance.maryland.gov/Consumer/Documents/publications/AutoRateGuide2020.pdf
https://insurance.maryland.gov/Consumer/Pages/InsurancePreparednessNaturalDisasters.aspx


Contact Information

Maryland Insurance Administration
800-492-6116 or 410-468-2000

www.insurance.maryland.gov

Motor Vehicle Administration
(410) 768-7000

mva.maryland.gov

http://www.insurance.maryland.gov/
https://mva.maryland.gov/Pages/default.aspx


Questions?

patricia.dorn@maryland.gov
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