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HEARING AID COVERAGE FOR ADULTS

A new Maryland law went into effect January 1, 2025, expanding
hearing aid coverage for certain adults 19 and older.

This new law requires insurers, nonprofit health service plans, and health maintenance
organizations (HMOs) to provide coverage for hearing aids and audiological services for
adults in certain situations previously only provided to people 18 and under.

These changes will allow adults for whom the hearing aid is prescribed, fitted, and
dispensed by a licensed audiologist to access coverage for hearing aids. There are plans
that may include a limitation of no less than $1,400 per hearing aid every 36 months;
however, an enrollee may choose a hearing aid that exceeds the $1,400 allowance and
pay the difference in price.

This law applies only to adults in fully insured, large
group plans and a limited number of individual

plans that were originally in effect before 2011.
It is important for Marylanders to understand that
many large group plans are self-funded by their ’

employer, and thus, not classified as a fully insured
health insurance plan. If you are unsure of the status
of your employer-sponsored health insurance, please
reach out to your Human Resources specialist for
that information.
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Marylanders who carry individual or fully insured small group health insurance through
the Maryland Health Benefit Exchange already have this coverage as an Essential Benefit
under the Maryland Benchmark. This coverage does not include the $1,400 per hearing aid
limitation; the plan member may be entitled to a greater allowance per hearing aid.

In addition to self-funded health insurance plans, this new law does not extend this
coverage to those on Maryland Medical Assistance (Medicaid), Medicare, Medicare
Advantage, Medicare Supplement, Tricare, or Veterans Administration benefits.

If you have additional questions about the expanded Hearing Aid Coverage law, please

contact the Maryland Insurance Administration’s Health Coverage Assistance Team
(H-CAT) at hcat.mia@maryland.gov, 410-468-2442, or visit https://grco.de/hcat for

assistance.
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ABOUT THE MARYLAND INSURANCE ADMINISTRATION

The Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA) is the state agency

‘1 that regulates the business of insurance in Maryland. If you feel that
Marviand your insurer or insurance producer acted improperly, you have the
e right to file a complaint. The MIA can investigate complaints that an

EDUCATING & insurer or insurance producer has:
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¢ Denied or delayed payment of all portions of a claim

e Improperly terminated your insurance policy

e Raised your insurance premiums without proper notice or in
excess of what the law allows

¢ Made false statements to you in connection with the sale of
insurance or the processing of insurance claims

e Overcharged you for services, including premium finance charges

Contact the Maryland Insurance Administration at:
200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700
Baltimore, Maryland 21202
410-468-2000 | 800-492-6116 | 800-735-2258 TTY
https://insurance.maryland.gov/Consumer/Pages/FileAComplaint.aspx

This consumer guide should be used for educational purposes only. It is not intended to provide legal advice or opinions regarding coverage under a specific
insurance policy or contract; nor should it be construed as an endorsement of any product, service, person, or organization mentioned in this guide. Please
note that policy terms vary based on the particular insurer and you should contact your insurer or insurance producer (agent or broker) for more information.
This publication has been produced by the Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA) to provide consumers with general information about insurance-related
issues and/or state programs and services. This publication may contain copyrighted material which was used with permission of the copyright owner.
‘ Publication herein does not authorize any use or appropriation of such copyrighted material without consent of the owner. All publications issued by the MIA
are available free of charge on the MIA's website or by request. The publication may be reproduced in its entirety without further permission of the MIA
provided the text and format are not altered or amended in any way, and no fee is assessed for the publication or duplication thereof. The MIA's name and
M a r I a n d contact information must remain clearly visible, and no other name, including that of the insurer or insurance producer reproducing the publication, may
appear anywhere in the reproduction. Partial reproductions are not permitted without the prior written consent of the MIA. Persons with disabilities may
INSURANCE ADMINISTRATION  request this document in an alternative format. Requests should be submitted in writing to the Director of Communications at the address listed above.
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