## MARYLAND INSURANCE ADMINISTRATION PRODUCER LICENSING

## <u>VIATICAL SETTLEMENT BROKERS AND PROVIDERS</u> REGISTRATION INSTRUCTIONS

- Maryland law requires that any person who acts as or represents itself as a viatical settlement provider in the State be registered as a viatical settlement provider. Viatical settlement providers enter into or effectuate viatical settlement contracts.
- **a** A Viatical Settlement Broker is required to have an active producer license with the Life line of authority.
- If the Viatical Settlement Broker is a business entity, the business entity must be a licensed producer with the Life line of authority. Additionally, the business entity is required to identify an individual to act as the business entity's principal contact with the Administration. This person must be a licensed insurance producer with the Life line of authority and registered as a Viatical Settlment Broker.
- The initial fee for a Viatical Settlement Broker is \$250.
- A Viatical Settlement Broker registration expires the same day as the expiration of the underlying Producer license.
- The initial fee for a Viatical Settlement Provider is \$1,000.
- **A** Viatical Settlement Provider registration expires 2 years after the date of issuance.
- Individuals and business entities may apply online via the National Insurance Producer Registry at <a href="www.nipr.com">www.nipr.com</a> or via paper using the NAIC Uniform Application found on the NIPR website. All applicants are also required to submit a completed <a href="mailto:Maryland Insurance Administration Limited Lines and Registrations Supplement">Maryland Insurance Administration website <a href="www.insurance.maryland.gov">www.insurance.maryland.gov</a>.

Paper applications should be mailed to:

The Maryland Insurance Administration Attn: Producer Licensing 200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700 Baltimore, Maryland 21202

## <u>VIATICAL SETTLEMENT BROKERS AND PROVIDERS</u> <u>REGISTRATION RENEWAL INSTRUCTIONS</u>

- The fee to renew a Viatical Settlement Broker registration is \$50.
- The fee to renew a Viatical Settlement Provider registration is \$50.
- Registrants may renew online via the National Insurance Producer Registry at <a href="www.nipr.com">www.nipr.com</a> or via paper using the NAIC Uniform Renewal Application found on the NIPR website.
- An application for renewal of a registration shall be considered made in a timely manner if it is postmarked on or before the registration expiration date.