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Maryland Insurance Administration 

Individual Producer License Renewal / Reinstatement Checklist 
 

Important Update: 

 

The attached application and supplement may be used to renew or reinstate an existing Maryland Insurance producer license. 

 

Requirements: 

 

Producer License Applicants attach a check or money order for $69.00 to renew a license or $169 to reinstate a license. Payments 

should be made payable to The Maryland Insurance Administration. 
 

Individuals who hold a surplus lines license must renew / reinstate the pre-requisite producer license simultaneously or prior to the 

renewal /reinstatement of the surplus lines license. In addition to the fee for the producer license an additional $200 must be submitted 

to renew the surplus lines license. Resident licensees must also submit proof that the $10,000 Surety Bond on file has been renewed or 

replaced. 

 

FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE AND ARE NOT DEPENDENT ON APPROVAL OR 
DENIAL OF AN APPLICATION 

 
 

TITLE APPLICANTS 

 

All licenses with the Title line of authority are required to submit a new or updated fidelity bond in the amount of $150,000 and a 

blanket surety bond or letter of credit, also in the amount of $150,000. 

 

Maryland attorneys and law firms meeting the conditions set forth in § 10-125(d) may qualify for an exemption from the bonding and 

education requirements.  However, supporting documentation must be timely submitted. 

 

If you are a Maryland attorney (an attorney who is admitted to practice before the Maryland Court of Appeals of the State of Maryland), 

you do not have to complete the title CE requirement. 

 

CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

All resident licensees holding a major line of authority, with the exception of Title, will be required to complete 24 hours of Continuing 

Education before the license can be renewed.  Title insurance producers must complete at least at least 16 hours of Continuing 

Education. 

 

All producers must earn 3 hours of their CE by taking an Ethics course. 

 

Any producer selling Long Term Care insurance must earn 2 of their CE hours by taking a Long Term Care course. 

Any producer selling Flood Insurance must earn 2 of their CE hours by taking Flood Insurance course. 

 

Sign Application and mail with any additional required items to: 

 

Maryland Insurance Administration 

Attn: Producer Licensing  

200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700  

Baltimore, MD 21202 
 

Questions? Please contact the Maryland Insurance Administration at 1-888-204-6198. 

 

 

 

 



Please note the application may be revised on a bi-annual basis. To ensure you are filing the current version of the application, please 

reference the National Insurance Producer Registry web site at www.nipr.com. 
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Uniform Application for 
Individual Producer License Renewal/Continuation 

(Please Print or Type) 

 

Check appropriate boxes for license requested. 

 Resident License License #: License Type:    
 Non-Resident License   License #: License Type:    

 Identify Home State:    

 Identify Home State License #:    
 

Demographic Information 

1    National Producer Number(NPN) 2 Date of Birth  

3   Last Name JR./SR. etc 4    First Name 

5  Residence/Home Address  (Physical Street) 6 City 7  State 8 Zip or Foreign Country 

9   Individual Applicants Email Address: 

10  Business Entity’s Name 

11  Business Address (Physical Street) 12   P.O. Box 13  City 14  State 15  Zip or Foreign Country 

16  Business Phone Number (include 17     Business Fax Number 18  Business E-Mail Address 19  Business Web Site Address 
extension) 

( ) 
( ) - 

20  Mailing Address 21   P.O. Box 22  City 23  State 24 Zip or Foreign Country 

Agency or Business Entity Affiliations 

25   List your Insurance Agency Affiliations: (Complete only if the applicant is to be licensed as an active member of the business entity) 

FEIN NPN Name of Agency      

FEIN NPN Name of Agency      

FEIN NPN Name of Agency      

Background Questions 

26 

1a. Have you been convicted of a misdemeanor, had a judgment withheld or deferred, or are you currently charged with committing a 

misdemeanor, which has not been previously reported to this insurance department? 

 

You may exclude the following misdemeanor convictions or pending misdemeanor charges: traffic citations, driving under the influence 
(DUI), driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license.. 

 

You may also exclude juvenile adjudications (offenses where you were adjudicated delinquent in a juvenile court) 

 

1b. Have you been convicted of a felony, had a judgment withheld or deferred, or are you currently charged with committing a felony, which 
has not been previously reported to this insurance department? 

 

You may exclude juvenile adjudications (offenses where you were adjudicated delinquent in a juvenile court) 
 

If you have a felony conviction involving dishonesty or breach of trust, have you applied for written consent to engage in the business of 

insurance in your home state as required by 18 USC 1033? 
 

If so, was that consent granted? (Attach copy of 1033 consent approved by home state.) 

 

1c. Have you been convicted of a military offense, had a judgment withheld or deferred, or are you currently charged with committing a 

military offense, which has not been previously reported to this insurance department? 

 

 

Yes No   

 

 

 
Yes No   

 
 

N/A Yes No    

N/A Yes No    

 

Yes No   

http://www.nipr.com/


Please note the application may be revised on a bi-annual basis. To ensure you are filing the current version of the application, please 

reference the National Insurance Producer Registry web site at www.nipr.com. 
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Uniform Application for 
Individual Producer License Renewal/Continuation 

Applicant Name:    

 

Background Questions continued 

 

NOTE: For Questions 1a, 1b and 1c, “Convicted” includes, but is not limited to, having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, 

having  entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended sentence, or a fine. 

 
If you answer yes to any of  these questions, you must attach to this application: 

a) a written statement explaining the circumstances of each incident, 

b) a copy of the charging document, 

c) a copy of the official document, which demonstrates the resolution of the charges or any final judgment. 

2. Have you been named or involved as a party in an administrative proceeding, including a FINRA sanction or arbitration proceeding 

regarding any professional or occupational license or registration, which has not been previously reported to this insurance department? Yes No   

 
“Involved” means having a license censured, suspended, revoked, canceled, terminated; or, being assessed a fine, placed on probation, 

sanctioned or surrendering a license to resolve an administrative action. “Involved” also means being named as a party to an 

administrative or arbitration proceeding, which is related to a professional or occupational license, or registration. “Involved” also means 
having a license, or registration, application denied or the act of withdrawing an application to avoid a denial. INCLUDE any business so 

named because of your actions in your capacity as an owner, partner, officer or director, or member or manager of a Limited Liability 

Company. You may exclude terminations due solely to noncompliance with continuing education requirements or failure to pay a 
renewal fee. 

 

If you answer yes, you must attach to this application: 

a) a written statement identifying the type of license and explaining the circumstances of each incident, 
b) a copy of the Notice of Hearing or other document that states the charges and allegations, and 
c) a copy of the official document which demonstrates the resolution of the charges or any final judgment. 

3. Do you have a child support obligation in arrearage, which has not been previously reported to this insurance department? Yes No   

 

If you answer yes, 
a) by how many months are you in arrearage?  Months 
b) are you currently subject to and in compliance with any repayment agreement? Yes No   

c) are you the subject of a child support related subpoena/warrant? Yes No   
 

4. In response to a “yes” answer to one or more of the Background Questions for this renewal application, are you submitting document(s) 

to the NAIC/NIPR Attachments Warehouse? N/A Yes No   

 
If you answer yes, Yes No   
Will you be associating (linking) previously filed documents from the NAIC/NIPR Attachments Warehouse to this application? 

 

Note: If you have previously submitted documents to the Attachments Warehouse that are intended to be filed with this renewal 
application, you must go to the Attachments Warehouse and associate (link) the supporting document(s) to this application based upon 
the particular background question number you have answered yes to on this application. You will receive information in a follow-up 

page at the end of the application process, providing a link to the Attachment Warehouse instructions. 

http://www.nipr.com/


Please note the application may be revised on a bi-annual basis. To ensure you are filing the current version of the application, please 

reference the National Insurance Producer Registry web site at www.nipr.com. 
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Uniform Application for 
Individual Producer License Renewal/Continuation 

 
 

27 The producer must read the following very carefully: 

Applicant’s Certification and Attestation 

 

1. I hereby certify that, under penalty of perjury, all of the information submitted in this application and attachments is true and complete. I am aware that submitting 
false information or omitting pertinent or material information in connection with this application is grounds for license revocation or denial of the license and may 
subject me to civil or criminal penalties. 

2. Unless provided otherwise by law or regulation of the jurisdiction, I hereby designate the Commissioner, Director or Superintendent of Insurance, or other 
appropriate party in each jurisdiction for which this application is made to be my agent for service of process regarding all insurance matters in the respective 

jurisdiction and agree that service upon the Commissioner, Director or Superintendent of Insurance, or other appropriate party of that jurisdiction is of the same legal 
force and validity as personal service upon myself. 

3. I further certify that I grant permission to the Commissioner, Director or Superintendent of Insurance, or other appropriate party in each jurisdiction for which this 

application is made to verify information with any federal, state or local government agency, current or former employer, or insurance company. 

4. I further certify that, under penalty of perjury, a) I have no child-support obligation, b) I have a child-support obligation and I am currently in compliance with that 

obligation, or c) I have identified my child support obligation arrearage on this application. 

5. I authorize the jurisdictions to which this application is made to give any information concerning me, as permitted by law, to any federal, state or municipal agency, 
or any other organization and I release the jurisdictions and any person acting on their behalf from any and all liability of whatever nature by reason of furnishing 
such information. 

6. I acknowledge that I understand and will comply with the insurance laws and regulations of the jurisdictions to which I am applying for licensure. 

7. I hereby certify that upon request, I will furnish the jurisdiction(s) to which I am applying, certified copies of any documents attached to this application or requested 

by the jurisdiction(s). 

 

 

Month/Day/Year 

 

Original Producer Signature 

 
Full Legal Name (Printed or Typed) 

http://www.nipr.com/
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