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THIRD PARTY ADMINISTRATOR (TPA) REGISTRATION 

 
◘  A Third Party Administrator (TPA) who qualifies as an “administrator” under Section 8-301(b) of the 

Insurance Article must be registered with the Maryland Insurance Administration.  
 
◘ A TPA that is not an “administrator” under Section 8-301 because it only administers plans that are subject 

to ERISA, and neither provides benefits through insurance nor administer a multiple employer welfare 
arrangements, is not required to register as a TPA but instead, must provide the MIA with written notice 
that the person operates in Maryland, and evidence that they are complying with any applicable bonding 
requirements imposed by ERISA. 

◘ The fee for an initial TPA registration is $250.  
 

◘  The registration term is for two years and all licenses expire June 30th of every other year. TPA 
Registrations may be renewed up to 90 days prior to the expiration date.  
 

◘ The fee to renew a Third Party Administrator Registration is $65.  This includes the $50 renewal fee and 
the $15 fraud prevention fee.   

 
◘ From June 30th to September 30th, those with an expired registration may reinstate by paying the renewal 

fees and the applicable, additional reinstatement fee, as listed. 
 

$25 for reinstatement during the period from July 1st  through July 31st 
$50 for reinstatement during the period from August 1st  through August 31st 
$75 for reinstatement during the period from September 1st  through September 30th 

 
◘ Applicants for an initial registration should submit the NAIC Uniform Application and   the Maryland 

Insurance Administration Limited Lines Supplement.  Applicants for a renewal registration should submit 
the NAIC Uniform Renewal Application. Applications may be submitted via paper or electronically 
through NIPR (www.nipr.com). Paper applications are normally processed within 3-5 business days and 
should be mailed to: 

 

The Maryland Insurance Administration 
Attn: Producer Licensing 

200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700 
Baltimore, Maryland 21202 

 
Download Maryland Insurance Administration Limited Lines Supplement 

 
◘ Applicants for an initial TPA Registration  or a renewal must submit a current, original surety bond unless: 

(1) the Commissioner has granted a waiver; (2) the applicant only administers plans under which benefits 
are paid only from the general assets of an employee organization or of an employer; or (3) the applicant is 
a corporation organized and authorized under the laws of the United States or a state to do business as an 
insurer or to exercise trust powers, is subject to supervision or examination by a federal or State authority, 
and continuously maintains combined capital and surplus in excess of $1,000,000.  
 

◘ The amount of the bond is determined at the time of application for registration or renewal, and is based on 
the average amount of money that the administrator or its predecessor handled in the prior year, and 
expects to handle in the current calendar year. The amount of the bond must be equal to at least 10% of the 
average amount of money that the administrator expects to handle at any one time for all plans 
administered during the year.  The minimum bond amount is $5,000 and the maximum amount is 
$500,000.   

◘  
Download Third Party Administrator Surety Bond Template 
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