
MARYLAND INSURANCE ADMINISTRATION 
 

LICENSE TYPE FEES 
Resident / Non Resident Producer Individual $54 
Resident / Non Resident Producer Firm $54 
Motor Vehicle Rental Company / Franchisee Initial Fee $54 
Portable Electronics Limited Lines License Initial Fee $54 
  
Renewal fees for all of the above licenses, includes $15 fraud fee and a $54 license fee. $69 
Reinstatement fees for all of the above licenses include $15 fraud fee, and $100 reinstatement fee. $169 
  
Surplus Line Resident & Non Resident  (Individual or Firm)  
Producer License expiration date is within 1 year from the date the Surplus Line License is activated. $100 
Producer License expiration date is later than 1 year from the date the Surplus Line License is activated. $200 
Surplus Line Renewal Fee $200 
Note: Surplus Line License requires an active producer license with property and casualty authorities.   
Note: Surplus Line Licenses are issued to expire on the same date as the underlying producer license. 
Temporary Producer License (Due to Death / Disability)  (Maryland Residents Only) $27 
  
Insurance Adviser Resident & Non Resident Initial Fee $200/$100 
Insurance Adviser Resident & Non Resident Renewal Fee $200 
Public Adjuster Resident & Non Resident Initial Fee $50/$25 
Public Adjuster Resident & Non Resident Renewal Fee $50 
Third Party Administrator $250 
Third Party Administrator Renewal Fee $50 
Third Party Administrator ERISA ONLY Initial Fee $0 
The licenses and registrations listed above are issued to expire on 6/30 of the next odd year.  All licenses and registrations not 
renewed prior to expiration may reinstate for up to 90 days past the license expire date.  The licensee/registrant is required to add 
an additional $25 for every 30 days, up to 90 days, that the license is expired.  Those failing to reinstate prior to September 30 of 
the odd year must reply and meet the requirements of an initial applicant. 
Viatical Life  Settlement Broker Initial $250 
Viatical Life Settlement  Broker Renewal $50 
Viatical Life  Settlement Provider Initial $1,000 
Viatical Life Settlement  Provider Renewal $50 
Motor Club Representative Registration $5/$7 
Motor Club Representative Registration Renewal Fee $2 
Associations    (NO FEE) $0 
Adding Lines of Authority to existing active license (NO FEE) $0 

 
SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION 

Applicants who answer yes to a background question must submit the attachments specified on the application.  
 

Title Applicants 
Title applicants must include a $150,000 Title Fidelity Bond and a $150,000 Title Surety Bond with a concurrently 
dated Power of Attorney or an original Letter of Credit in the amount of $150,000. A Maryland attorney practicing at a 
Maryland law firm who is admitted to practice before the Maryland Court of Appeals does not have to fulfill the title 
bond requirements. In lieu of the bonds the attorney must submit an employment verification letter from a firm with a 
Maryland address on law firm letterhead, and a letter of Good Standing from the Maryland Court of Appeals.  Both 
letters must be received within 90 days of issuance. 

Resident Surplus Line Applicants 
Resident Surplus Line applicants must include a  $10,000 Surety Bond and a concurrently dated Power of Attorney. 

(Non-Residents are not required to submit a bond). 
 

Resident & Non Resident Adviser License 
 Adviser Applicants must include a $1,000 Adviser Bond and a concurrently dated Power of Attorney. 

MAILING ADDRESS 
Maryland Insurance Administration 

Attn: Producer Licensing 
200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700 
Baltimore, Maryland 21202 

 

Producer Licensing Customer Service 1-888-204-6198 – Producer Licensing Fax (410) 468-2399 
www.mdinsurance.state.md.us 


