MARYLAND INSURANCE ADMINISTRATION PRODUCER LICENSING

ADVISER LICENSING; INITIAL AND RENEWAL LICENSES

- Maryland issues licenses to resident and nonresident individuals who are trustworthy and competent to be licensed as Advisers.
- Resident applicants for the Adviser License must pass the Adviser Life/Health exam or the Adviser Property/Casualty exam, unless the individual qualifies for a waiver from the exam requirement.
 - Individuals requesting the <u>Adviser Life/Health</u> authority who actively hold one of the designations below may be granted a waiver from the examination.

Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU)	Certified Employee Benefit Specialist (CEBS)
Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC)	Certified Financial Planner (CFP)

 Individuals requesting the <u>Adviser Property/Casualty</u> authority who actively hold one of the designations below may be granted a waiver from the examination.

Fellow of the Casualty	Certified Insurance Counselor	Chartered Property and Casualty
Actuarial Society	(CIC)	Underwriter (CPCU)

- There is no pre-licensing education required to register for the exam. Please contact our examination vendor PSI at 1-800-733-9267 or visit <u>www.psiexams.com</u> to schedule the exam or download a copy of the Candidate Information Bulletin.
- Nonresident licenses will be issued on a reciprocal basis if the nonresident is licensed as an insurance adviser in his or her state of residence.
- Nonresidents, whose state of residence does not issue an Adviser License or the equivalent, must take and pass the Maryland Adviser exam.
- **D** To qualify for a license as an Adviser, an individual must:
 - pay the applicable fee of \$100 or \$200, required by § 2-112 of the Insurance Article;
 - submit an original \$1,000 surety bond; and
 - complete and submit the NAIC Uniform Individual Application.
- Insurance Adviser Licenses expire June 30th of every other year, and may be renewed 30 days prior to the license expiration date. The fee to renew an Insurance Adviser license is \$215, which includes the \$200 renewal fee and the \$15 fraud prevention fee.
- On or before September 30th of the renewal year, those with an expired license may reinstate. In addition to the renewal fee and fraud prevention fee, the applicant must remit the applicable reinstatement fee, as set forth below:

\$25 for reinstatement during the period from July 1 st	through July 31 st
\$50 for reinstatement during the period from August 1 st	through August 31 st
\$75 for reinstatement during the period from September 1 st	through September 30 th

- Licensees must be in compliance with the \$1,000 Surety Bond requirement to qualify for approval of the renewal application.
- Applications may be submitted via paper or electronically through NIPR (<u>www.nipr.com</u>). Paper applications are normally processed within 3-5 business days and should be mailed to:

The Maryland Insurance Administration Attn: Producer Licensing 200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700 Baltimore, Maryland 21202