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NONPROFIT HEALTH SERVICE PLAN — INDIVIDUAL STAND-ALONE DENTAL COVERAGE 
OFFERED THROUGH THE EXCHANGE OR CERTIFIED TO BE SOLD OUTSIDE THE EXCHANGE  
 
COMPANY: 
 

NAIC Code: 
 

FORM(S): 
 
DATE: 
 
SERFF TRACKING NO.: 
 
 
All section references are to the Insurance Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland, unless otherwise 
specified. The checklist is not required to be included with a form filing. It should be used as a guide 
in determining which laws and regulations apply to the contract. 
 
Brief Description & Law/Regulation Cite     "X" Means  Form/ 
                                                     Applicable  Page 
 
A.  Filing Incomplete or in Unacceptable Format 
 
A1.  Identification of the level of coverage, low or high 45 CFR 

§156.150(b)(2) 
 

  

A2.  Actuarial value of the pediatric dental benefit only-70% or 85% 
with a de minimis variation of + 2% 45 CFR §156.150(b)(2) 

 

  

A3.  Certification of the level of coverage by a member of the 
American Academy of Actuaries  45 CFR §156.150(b)(3) 

 

  

A4.  Annual limitation on cost-sharing for essential pediatric dental 
benefits  (Such annual limit is calculated without regard to EHBs             
provided by the QHP and without regard to out-of-network 
services) 45 CFR §156.150(a) 
• $350 - one child 
• $700 - 2 or more children (in aggregate) 

   Cost-sharing defined as any expenditure required by or on behalf 
of an enrollee with respect to essential pediatric dental benefits; 
such term includes deductibles, coinsurance, copayments, or  
similar charges 45 CFR§155.20 

 

  

A5.  Separate schedule of benefit form for each plan design with 
specific combination of benefits and cost-sharing MIA Bulletin 
15-33 

 

  

A6. Form contains text in brackets, denoting variability.  Only 
specific items allowed for variability.  Submit specific 
description of how each bracketed item will vary.  If other items 
are desired, include the item COMAR 31.04.17.04A(1) 

 

  

A7.  Premium Rates and Actuarial Memorandum COMAR 
31.10.01.03A 

 

  



Brief Description & Law/Regulation Cite     "X" Means  Form/ 
                                                     Applicable  Page 

A8.  Form Number COMAR 31.04.17.03D 
 

  

A9.  Corporate Name COMAR 31.04.17.03G and COMAR 
31.10.01.03B  

 

  

A10.  Unacceptable Modifications COMAR 31.04.17.03H 
 

  

A11.  Specimen Data COMAR 31.04.17.03K 
 

  

A12.  Signature of Officer COMAR 31.04.17.03M 
 

  

A13.  Advertising Prohibited COMAR 31.04.17.07 
 

  

A14.  Size of Type COMAR 31.10.02.02A(4) 
 

  

A15.  Simplified Language COMAR 31.10.02 
 

  

A16.  Disclosure of Not-for-profit Status §14-103 
 

  

A17.  Filing Fees Insufficient §2-112(a)(9) 
 

  

A18. Contracts Comprised of Insert Pages COMAR 31.04.17.04B 
 

  

A19. Contracts Comprised of Sections COMAR 31.04.17.04C 
 

  

 
B.  Essential Pediatric Dental Benefits (Benchmark Plan-MCHIP dental benefit) 
 
B1.  Coverage provided until at least the end of the month in 

which the child turns 19 years of age 45 CFR § 156.115(a)(6) 
 

  

B2.  Periodic screening in accordance with the periodicity schedule 
developed by the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry MIA 
Bulletins 13-01 and 15-33 

 

  

B3.  Diagnostic services included in the Maryland Children’s Health 
Insurance Plan (MCHIP) dental benefit MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 
15-33 

 

  

B4.  Preventive services included in the MCHIP dental benefit MIA 
Bulletins 13-01 and 15-33 
• Annual dental preventive care visit must be covered if 

provided at any time during the plan year – may not require 
visit to occur after a specified time period (e.g. 12 months) 
following prior visit 

• If the contract provides benefits for dental preventive care 
more often than once per plan year, the contract may not 
require that the visits be separated by more than 120 days 
§15-135.1 
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B5.  Restorative services included in the MCHIP dental benefit MIA 
Bulletins 13-01 and 15-33 

 

  

B6.  Endodontic services included in the MCHIP dental benefit MIA 
Bulletins 13-01 and 15-33 

 

  

B7.  Periodontic services included in the MCHIP dental benefit MIA 
Bulletins 13-01 and 15-33 

 

  

B8.  Removable prosthodontics services included in the MCHIP 
dental benefit MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 15-33 

 

  

B9.  Maxillofacial prosthetics included in the MCHIP dental benefit 
(codes D5992 and D 5993) MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 15-33 

 

  

B10.  Fixed prosthodontic services included in the MCHIP dental 
benefit-(D6930-recement fixed partial denture) MIA Bulletins 13-
01 and 15-33 

 

  

B11.  Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery included in the MCHIP dental 
benefit  

 

  

B12.  Orthodontics included in the MCHIP dental  benefit- only for 
children with severe, dysfunctional, handicapping malocclusion 
MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 15-33 
• Non-medically necessary orthodontia may not be included as 

an essential pediatric dental benefit  45 CFR§156.115(d) 
 

  

B13.  Adjunctive general dental services included in the MCHIP dental 
benefit MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 15-33 

 

  

B14.  No lifetime or annual limits permitted for essential pediatric dental 
benefits 45 CFR §155.1065(a)(2) 

 

  

B15.  Essential pediatric dental benefit must be included in all contracts 
sold on the Exchange, including contracts issued only to adults 
Sec. 1311(d)(2)(B)(ii) of the ACA 

 

  

 
C.   Stand-alone Dental Plan Standards 45 CFR §155.1065(a)(3).  Applicable to Qualified Dental 

Plans sold on the Exchange (§31-101(p)), but not to Exchange Certified Stand-Alone Dental 
Plans sold outside the Exchange (§31-116(f)(1)(ii)) 

 
C1.  Premium rates must be set for an entire benefit year 45 CFR  

§156.210(a) 
 

  

C2.  Benefit year defined as a calendar year for which the carrier 
provides coverage for dental benefits 45 CFR §155.20 

 

  

C3   Individual must be allowed to pay premium directly to the carrier 
45 CFR §§156.265(d) and 155.240(a) 
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C4.  Individuals enrolled only if Exchange notifies the carrier that the 
individual is a qualified individual as determined by the Exchange 
in accordance with 45 CFR §155.305  45 CFR §156.265(b) 

 

  

C5.  Three (3)-month grace period for individuals receiving advance 
payments of the premium tax credit on the premium due date 45 
CFR §156.270(d); 81 FR 12350 
• Carrier may not condition eligibility for grace period on 

individual having paid at least one full month's premium 
during the benefit year 

 

  

 
D.   Open Enrollment and Special Enrollment Periods 45 CFR §156.260.  Applicable to Qualified 

Dental Plans sold on the Exchange (§31-101(p)), but not to Exchange Certified Stand-Alone 
Dental Plans sold outside the Exchange (§31-116(f)(1)(ii)) 

 
D1.  Annual open enrollment period for benefit year beginning on 

January 1, 2017-November 1, 2016 through January 31, 2017 45 
CFR §155.410(e)(2) 
  

  

D2.  Effective dates of coverage for benefit year beginning on January 
1, 2017 
• January 1, 2017 for selections received on or before 

December 15, 2016; 
• February 1, 2017 for selections received from December 16, 

2016 through January 15, 2017; 
• March 1, 2017 for selections received from January 16, 2017 

through January 31, 2017. 45 CFR §155.410(f)(2) 
 

  

D3.  Special enrollment period of 60 days for certain “triggering 
events” 45 CFR §155.420(c)  

  

   
a. Loss of minimum essential coverage by the individual or 

dependent  45 CFR §155.420 (d)(1) 
• does not include loss of coverage due to voluntary 

termination*, failure to pay premiums on a timely basis, 
including COBRA premiums or loss due to a rescission 
authorized under 45 CFR §147.128 (*45 CFR §155.420(e))  

• may access the special enrollment period 60 days prior to the 
end of such coverage 45 CFR  § 155.420(c)(2) 

 

  

b. Loss of pregnancy related coverage under section 
1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(IV) and (a)(10)(A)(ii)(IX)  of the Social Security 
Act (Medicaid) by individual or dependent- 45CFR§155.420(d)(1) 
• may access the special enrollment period 60 days prior to the 

end of such coverage 45 CFR § 155.420(c)(2) 
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c. Loss of medically needy coverage as described under section 
1902(a)(10)(C) of the Social Security Act- 45 CFR § 
155.420(d)(1) 
• may access the special enrollment period 60 days prior to the 

end of such coverage 45 CFR § 155.420(c)(2) 
 

  

d. Individual or dependent is enrolled in any non-calendar year 
group health plan or individual health insurance coverage, even if 
individual or dependent has the option to renew such coverage. 
The date of the loss of coverage is the last day of the plan or 
policy year.  45 CFR § 155.420(d)(1)(ii) 
• may access the special enrollment period 60 days prior to the 

end of such coverage 45 CFR § 155.420(c)(2) 
 

  

e. Individual gains a dependent or becomes a dependent through 
marriage, birth, adoption, placement for adoption, or placement in 
foster care or through a child support order or other court order 
45 CFR §155.420 (d)(2)(i) 

 

  

f. The enrollee loses a dependent or is no longer considered a 
dependent through divorce or legal separation, or if the enrollee, 
or his or her dependent, dies  45 CFR §155.420 (d)(2)(ii) 

 

  

g. Individual or dependent gains status as citizen, national, or 
lawfully present 45 CFR §155.420 (d)(3) 

 

  

h. The individual’s or dependent’s enrollment or non-enrollment is 
unintentional, inadvertent or erroneous and is the result of an 
error, misrepresentation, misconduct, or inaction of an officer, 
employee, or agent of the Exchange or HHS, its instrumentalities, 
or a non-Exchange entity providing enrollment assistance or 
conducting enrollment activities. -45 CFR §155.420 (d)(4) 

 

  

i. Individual or dependent demonstrates to the Exchange that a 
qualified plan substantially violated a material provision of its 
contract with the individual  45 CFR §155.420 (d)(5) 

 

  

j. Individual or dependent enrolled in the same plan becomes 
newly eligible or newly ineligible for advance payments of 
premium tax credits or federal cost-sharing reductions 45 CFR 
§155.420 (d)(6)(i) and (ii)  

 

  

k. Individual or dependent gains access to new plans due to a 
permanent move 45 CFR §155.420 (d)(7) 
• May access the special enrollment period 60 days in advance 

of the move 45 CFR §155.420(c)(2) 
 

  

l. Individual or dependent demonstrates to the Exchange, in 
accordance with HHS guidelines, that the individual meets other 
exceptional circumstances 45 CFR §155.420 (d)(9)  
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m. Individual or dependent is enrolled in an employer-sponsored  
plan, is determined newly eligible for advance payments of 
premium tax credits based on the individual being ineligible for 
qualifying coverage in an eligible employer-sponsored plan, and 
is allowed to terminate existing coverage §155.420(d)(6)(iii) 
• may access the special enrollment period 60 days prior to the 

end of the such coverage 45 CFR  § 155.420(c)(2) 
 

  

D4. Individuals who are Indians may change dental plans on the 
Exchange once per month 45 CFR §155.420 (d)(8) 

 

  

D5. Effective dates of coverage for individuals who enroll during a 
special enrollment period 45 CFR §155.420(b) 

 

  

a. In the case of loss of minimum essential coverage, loss of 
pregnancy related coverage, loss of medical needy coverage, 
loss of coverage under a non-calendar year group or individual 
plan, or gaining access to new plans due to a permanent move, 
the effective date is based on date of plan selection—if plan 
selection is made on or before the date of the triggering event, 
new coverage becomes effective the first of the following month.  
If plan selection occurs after the date of the triggering event, the 
first day of the following month when a selection is made 
between the 1st and 15th* day of any month; and the first day of 
the second following month when a selection is made between 
the 16th and the last day of any month 45 CFR § 
155.420(b)(2)(iv). 

 

  

b. In the case of birth, adoption, placement for adoption, or 
placement in foster care, the date of birth, adoption, placement 
for adoption, or placement in foster care  45 CFR 
§155.420(b)(2)(i) 

 

  

c. In the case of a court order, the date the court order is effective or 
if permitted by the Exchange the individual may elect a coverage 
effective date of the first day of the following month when a 
selection is received between the 1st and 15th day of any month; 
and the first day of the second following month when a selection 
is received between the 16th and the last day of any month. 45 
CFR § 155.420(b)(2)(v) 

 

  

d. In the case of marriage, the first day of the month following plan 
selection  45 CFR §155.420(b)(2)(ii) 
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e.  In the case of an individual eligible for special enrollment when:  
1. enrollment or non-enrollment was unintentional, inadvertent 

or erroneous and the result of an error misrepresentation, 
misconduct, or inaction of an officer, employee, or agent of 
the Exchange or HHS, its instrumentalities, or a non-
Exchange entity providing enrollment assistance or 
conducting enrollment activities;  

2. the qualified plan substantially violated a material provision 
of its contract with the individual; or 

3. the individual meets other exceptional circumstances, 
 

the effective date is an appropriate date based on the specific 
circumstances and  is determined by the Exchange 45 CFR 
§155.420 (b)(2)(iii) 

  

  

f. In the case of an individual or dependent enrolled in an employer-
sponsored plan, is determined newly eligible for advance 
payments of premium tax credits based on the individual being 
ineligible for qualifying coverage in an eligible employer-
sponsored plan, and is allowed to terminate existing coverage, 
the effective date is based on date of plan selection—if plan 
selection is made on or before loss of coverage, new coverage 
becomes effective the first of the following month.  If plan 
selection occurs after the date of loss of coverage, the first day of 
the following month when a selection is made between the 1st 
and 15th day of any month; and the first day of the second 
following month when a selection is made between the 16th and 
the last day of any month 45 CFR § 155.420(b)(2)(iv) 

 

  

g. In the case of the enrollee who loses a dependent or is no longer 
considered a dependent because a dependent dies, the first day 
of the month following the plan selection, or if permitted by the 
Exchange the individual may elect a coverage effective date of 
the first day of the following month when a selection is received 
between the 1st and 15th day of any month; and the first day of 
the second following month when a selection is received between 
the 16th and the last day of any month. 45 CFR § 
155.420(b)(2)(vi) 

 

  

h. For all other triggering events: the first day of the following month 
when a selection is received by the Exchange between the 1st 
and 15th day of any month; and the first day of the second 
following month when a selection is received by the Exchange  
between the 16th and the last day of any month 45 CFR 
§155.420(b)(1) 
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E. Termination of Coverage Requirements 45 CFR §156.270.  Applicable to Qualified Dental 

Plans sold on the Exchange (§31-101(p)), but not to Exchange Certified Stand-Alone Dental 
Plans sold outside the Exchange (§31-116(f)(1)(ii)) 

 
E1. Covered person must be permitted to terminate coverage, 

including as a result of obtaining other minimum essential 
coverage, with 14-day notice 45 CFR§155.430(b)(1) 

 

  

E2. Effective date of coverage when covered person  terminates 
coverage 45 CFR §155.430(d)(2) 

 

  

• When at least 14-day notice provided, date specified by 
covered person  

 

  

• When less than 14 day notice provided, 14 days after the 
termination is requested by the covered person 

 

  

• If the carrier is able to effectuate termination in fewer than 14 
days and the covered person requests an earlier termination 
date, on the date determined by the carrier 

 

  

• If the covered person is newly eligible for Medicaid or MCHIP, 
the day before coverage under Medicaid or MCHIP begins 

 

  

E3. Covered person must be permitted to retroactively terminate or 
cancel coverage in certain circumstances 45 CFR 
§155.430(b)(1)(iv); 81 FR 12344 

 

  

a. Covered person demonstrates to the Exchange that he or she 
attempted to terminate coverage and experienced a technical 
error that did not allow the member to terminate coverage, and 
requests retroactive termination within 60 days after member 
discovered the technical error 45 CFR §155.430(b)(1)(iv)(A); 81 
FR 12344 

 

  

b. Covered person demonstrates to the Exchange that enrollment in 
a qualified plan was unintentional, inadvertent, or erroneous and 
was the result of the error or misconduct of an officer, employee, 
or agent of the Exchange or HHS, its instrumentalities, or a non-
Exchange entity providing enrollment assistance or conducting 
enrollment activities. Such enrollee must request cancellation 
within 60 days of discovering the unintentional, inadvertent, or 
erroneous enrollment 45 CFR §155.430(b)(1)(iv)(B); 81 FR 
12344 
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c. Covered person demonstrates to the Exchange that he or she 
was enrolled in a qualified plan without his or her knowledge or 
consent by any third party, including third parties who have no 
connection with the Exchange, and requests cancellation within 
60 days of discovering the enrollment 45 CFR 
§155.430(b)(1)(iv)(C); 81 FR 12344 

 

  

E4.  Effective date of retroactive termination by member: 
• For retroactive termination due to a technical error described 

in item E3.a. above, the termination date will be no sooner 
than 14 days after the date the member can demonstrate he 
or she contacted the Exchange to terminate coverage, unless 
the carrier agrees to an earlier effective date requested by the 
member 45 CFR §155.430(d)(9); 81 FR 12344 

• For retroactive cancellation or termination due to enrollment 
errors described in items E3.b. and c. above, the cancellation 
date or termination date will be the original coverage effective 
date or a later date, as determined appropriate by the 
Exchange, based on the circumstances of the cancellation or 
termination 45 CFR §155.430(d)(10); 81 FR 12344 

 

  

E5.  Carrier may only terminate coverage: 
• when covered person is no longer eligible for coverage 

through the Exchange. 
• for non-payment of premiums; 
• when coverage is rescinded in accordance with 45 CFR 

§147.128; 
• when the qualified dental plan terminates or is decertified.  
• when the covered person changes from one qualified dental 

plan to another during an annual open enrollment period or 
special enrollment period; 

• when member  was enrolled in a qualified plan without his or 
her knowledge or consent by a third party, including by a third 
party with no connection with the Exchange 

45 CR §155.430(b)(2) 
 

  

E6. Carrier must promptly and without undue delay provide the 
member notice of termination of coverage that includes the 
termination date and the reason for termination 45 CFR 
§156.270(b)(1) 

 

  

E7.  Effective dates of termination of coverage   
• When covered person no longer eligible, the last day of 

eligibility as described in 45 CFR § 155.330(f), unless the 
member requests an earlier termination date  45 CFR 
§155.430(d)(3) 

 

  

• For nonpayment of premium by covered person receiving 
advance payments of the premium tax credit, the last day of 
the first month of the 3-month grace period 45 CFR 
§155.430(d)(4) 
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• For nonpayment of premium for covered person NOT 
receiving advance payments of the premium tax credit, the 
last day of the 31-day grace period 45 CFR §155.430(d)(5) 

 

  

• When covered person changes from one qualified dental plan 
to another, the day before the effective date of coverage in 
the new qualified dental plan 45 CFR §155.430(d)(6) 

 

  

• In the case of termination due to death, the last day of 
coverage is the date of death 45 CFR § 155.430(d)(7) 

 

  

• In the case of cancellation when the member was enrolled in 
a QHP by a third party without the member’s knowledge or 
consent, the original coverage effective date, following 
reasonable notice to the enrollee (where possible) 45 CFR 
§155.430(d)(11); 81 FR 12344 

 

  

 
F.  Required Standard Provisions 
 
F1.  Entire Contract; Changes COMAR 31.10.25.04A 
 

  

F2.  Time Limit on Certain Defenses COMAR 31.10.25.04B(1)   
 

  

F3. Grace Period for covered persons not receiving advance 
payments of premium tax credits COMAR 31.10.25.04C 

 

  

F4.  Reinstatement  COMAR 31.10.25.04D 
 

  

F5.  Notice of Claim COMAR 31.10.25.04E 
 

  

F6.  Claims Forms COMAR 31.10.25.04F 
 

  

F7.  Proofs of Loss COMAR 31.10.25.04G 
• Provider must be permitted minimum of 180 days to file 

claim §15-1005(d) 
 

  

F8.  Time Payment of Claims COMAR 31.10.25.04H 
 

  

F9.  Payment of Claims COMAR 31.10.25.04I 
 

  

F10. Legal Action COMAR 31.10.25.04J 
 

  

F11. 10-Day Right to Examine Contract COMAR 31.10.25.04K 
 

  

F12. Age Limit; Misstatement of Age COMAR 31.10.25.04L 
 

  

F13. Premium Due Date COMAR 31.10.25.04M 
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G. Optional Standard Provisions 
 
G1.  Physical Examination COMAR 31.10.25.06C 
 

  

G2.  Misstatement of Age COMAR 31.10.25.06E  
 

  

G3.  Unpaid Premiums COMAR 31.10.25.06F 
 

  

G4.  Arbitration COMAR 31.10.25.06G 
 

  

 
H.  Other 
 
H1.  Incapacitated Child §15-402  
 

  

H2. Newborn/Adopted Children/Grandchildren/Guardianship  §§15-
401, 15-403 and 15-403.1 

 

  

H3.  Extension of Benefits §15-833(j) 
 

  

H4.  Benefits for Adult Dental Preventive Care 
• Annual dental preventive care visit must be covered if 

provided at any time during the plan year – may not require 
visit to occur after a specified time period (e.g. 12 months) 
following prior visit 

• If the contract provides benefits for dental preventive care 
more often than once per plan year, the contract may not 
require that the visits be separated by more than 120 days 
§15-135.1 

 

  

H5. Preferred Provider Contracts  
 

  

a. Coinsurance Differential – Difference between coinsurance 
percentage for non-preferred and preferred providers may not 
exceed 20 percentage points §14-205(b)(2) 

 

  

b. Coinsurance amounts for preferred provider must be based on 
negotiated fees with insurer §15-118(c)  

 

  

c. Allowed Amounts – The allowed amount paid to non-preferred 
providers for a health care service covered under a PPO 
contract may not be less than the allowed amount paid to a 
similarly licensed provider who is a preferred provider for the 
same service in the same region §14-205(b)(4) 

 

  

d. Right to Standing Referral to Network Specialist (gatekeeper 
plans only) §15-830(b) 

 

  

11 



Brief Description & Law/Regulation Cite     "X" Means  Form/ 
                                                     Applicable  Page 

e. Right to Request Referral to Specialist Not on Carrier’s Provider 
Panel §15-830(d) 
• Referral must be granted if the carrier cannot provide 

reasonable access to a specialist without unreasonable travel 
or delay 

 

  

f. Office to file complaints §15-112(j)(4) 
 

  

g. Receiving carrier requirements for members transitioning to                   
carrier’s plan §15-140(d) 

 

  

h. Exclusive Provider Benefit – May not restrict payment for certain 
covered services provided by non-preferred providers: 
• For an unforeseen illness, injury or condition requiring 

immediate care §14-205.1(a)(2)(ii) 
• As required under §15-830 

 

  

H6.  Standard of Time COMAR 31.10.01.03C 
 

  

H7.  Notice of Premium Increase By Mail  COMAR 31.10.01.03R 
 

  

H8.  Health Care Providers §15-701 
 

  

H9.  Payment of Interest on Unpaid Claims §15-1005(f)  
 

  

H10. Reimbursement for Services Paid for or Provided by 
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene §15-603 

 

  

H11. Complaint process for coverage decisions Title 15, Subtitle 
10D 

 

  

H12. Required Exclusion for Prohibited Health Care Practitioner                       
Referrals §15-110(d) 

 

  

 
I.  Prohibited Provisions, Limitations and Exclusions 
 
I1. Reimbursement Language COMAR 31.10.01.03P 
 

  

I2. Strict Compliance Language COMAR 31.10.01.03Q 
 

  

I3. Denial of Reimbursement for Pre-authorized Care Prohibited 
Except for Limited Reasons §15-1009 

 

  

I4. Reduction for Medical Assistance Program §15-502 
 

  

I5. Exclusion for loss due to insured’s commission or attempt to 
commit a crime COMAR 31.10.25.05A(1) 
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I6.  Exclusion for loss to which a contributing cause was the 
insured’s being engaged in an illegal occupation COMAR 
31.10.25.05A(2) 

 

  

I7. Exclusion for loss due to use of alcohol or drugs COMAR 
31.10.25.05C 

 

  

I8. Coordination of Benefits 
• May not coordinate against guaranteed renewable 

individual intensive care or specified disease policies §15-
104(c) 

• May not provide benefits that are secondary to benefits 
payable under Personal Injury Protection (PIP) §15-104(d) 

• Excess of other insurance clause prohibited §14-
126(b)(3)(i)2. 

 

  

 
J.  Utilization Review 
 
J1.  Initial authorization of course of treatment made: 

a. For non-emergencies, within 2 working days of receipt of 
information necessary to make determination §15-10B-
06(a)(1)(i) 

 

  

b. For additional health care services, within 1 working day of 
receipt of necessary information §15-10B-06(a)(1)(ii) 

 

  

J2. Notice of adverse decision must be provided within 5 working 
days after adverse decision is made to member, member’s 
representative and a health care provider acting on behalf of 
the member §15-10A-02(f)(2) 

 

  

J3. May not retroactively deny approval of preauthorized services 
§15-10B-07(c) 

 

  

J4. Company not certified as Private Review Agent in Maryland 
§15-1001, Title 15, Subtitle 10B; COMAR 31.10.18 

 

  

J5.  Grievance Procedure Not Included.  Please Advise Where 
Grievance Information Is Provided - §15-10A-02(k), Title 15, 
Subtitle 10A 

 

  

J6. When carrier is the receiving carrier, the carrier must, upon 
request, accept a preauthorization from the relinquishing carrier 
for the lesser of the course of treatment or 90 days §15-140(c) 
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