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INSURERS—GROUP STAND-ALONE DENTAL COVERAGE OFFERED THROUGH THE SHOP 
EXCHANGE OR CERTIFIED TO BE SOLD OUTSIDE THE EXCHANGE  
 
COMPANY: 
 

NAIC Code: 
 

FORM(S): 
 
DATE: 
 
SERFF TRACKING NO.: 
 
 
All section references are to the Insurance Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland, unless otherwise 
specified. The checklist is not required to be included with a form filing. It should be used as a guide 
in determining which laws and regulations apply to the contract. 
 
Brief Description & Law/Regulation Cite     "X" Means  Form/ 
                                                     Applicable  Page 
 
A.  Filing Incomplete or in Unacceptable Format 
 
A1.  Identification of the level of coverage, low or high 45 CFR 

§156.150(b)(2) 
 

  

A2.  Actuarial value of the pediatric dental benefit only-70% or 85% 
with a de minimis variation of + 2% 45 CFR §156.150(b)(2) 

 

  

A3.  Certification of the level of coverage by a member of the 
American Academy of Actuaries  45 CFR §156.150(b)(3) 

 

  

A4.  Annual limitation on cost-sharing for essential pediatric dental 
benefits  (Such annual limit is calculated without regard to EHBs             
provided by the QHP and without regard to out-of-network 
services) 45 CFR §156.150(a) 
• $350 - one child 
• $700 - 2 or more children (in aggregate) 

   Cost-sharing defined as any expenditure required by or on behalf 
of an enrollee with respect to essential pediatric dental benefits; 
such term includes deductibles, coinsurance, copayments, or  
similar charges 45 CFR§155.20 

 

  

A5.  Separate schedule of benefit form for each plan design with 
specific combination of benefits and cost-sharing MIA Bulletin 
15-33 

 

  

A6. Form contains text in brackets, denoting variability.  Only 
specific items allowed for variability.  Submit specific 
description of how each bracketed item will vary.  If other items 
are desired, include the item COMAR 31.04.17.04A(2) 

 

  

A7.  Premium Rates and Actuarial Memorandum COMAR 
31.10.01.03A 

 

  



Brief Description & Law/Regulation Cite     "X" Means  Form/ 
                                                     Applicable  Page 

A8.  Form Number COMAR 31.04.17.03D 
 

  

A9.  Corporate Name COMAR 31.04.17.03G  
 

  

A10.  Unacceptable Modifications COMAR 31.04.17.03H 
 

  

A11.  Specimen Data COMAR 31.04.17.03K 
 

  

A12.  Signature of Officer COMAR 31.04.17.03M 
 

  

A13.  Advertising Prohibited COMAR 31.04.17.07 
 

  

A14.  Size of Type COMAR 31.10.02.02A(4) 
 

  

A15.  Simplified Language COMAR 31.10.02   

A16.  Illegible Form §12-205(b)(5) 
 

  

A17.  Filing Fees Insufficient §2-112(a)(9) 
 

  

A18. Contracts Comprised of Insert Pages COMAR 31.04.17.04B 
 

  

A19. Contracts Comprised of Sections COMAR 31.04.17.04C 
 

  

 
B.  Essential Pediatric Dental Benefits (Benchmark Plan-MCHIP dental benefit) 
 
B1.  Coverage provided until at least the end of the month in 

which the child turns 19 years of age 45 CFR § 156.115(a)(6) 
 

  

B2.  Periodic screening in accordance with the periodicity schedule 
developed by the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry MIA 
Bulletins 13-01 and 15-33 

 

  

B3.  Diagnostic services included in the Maryland Children’s Health 
Insurance Plan (MCHIP) dental benefit MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 
15-33 

 

  

B4.  Preventive services included in the MCHIP dental benefit MIA 
Bulletins 13-01 and 15-33 
• Annual dental preventive care visit must be covered if 

provided at any time during the plan year – may not require 
visit to occur after a specified time period (e.g. 12 months) 
following prior visit 

• If the contract provides benefits for dental preventive care 
more often than once per plan year, the contract may not 
require that the visits be separated by more than 120 days 
§15-135.1 

 

  

B5.  Restorative services included in the MCHIP dental benefit MIA 
Bulletins 13-01 and 15-33 
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B6.  Endodontic services included in the MCHIP dental benefit MIA 
Bulletins 13-01 and 15-33 

 

  

B7.  Periodontic services included in the MCHIP dental benefit MIA 
Bulletins 13-01 and 15-33 

 

  

B8.  Removable prosthodontics services included in the MCHIP 
dental benefit MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 15-33 

 

  

B9.  Maxillofacial prosthetics included in the MCHIP dental benefit 
(codes D5992 and D 5993) MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 15-33 

 

  

B10.  Fixed prosthodontic services included in the MCHIP dental 
benefit-(D6930-recement fixed partial denture) MIA Bulletins 13-
01 and 15-33 

 

  

B11.  Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery included in the MCHIP dental 
benefit  

 

  

B12.  Orthodontics included in the MCHIP dental  benefit- only for 
children with severe, dysfunctional, handicapping malocclusion 
MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 15-33 

 

  

B13.  Adjunctive general dental services included in the MCHIP dental 
benefit MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 15-33 

 

  

B14.  No lifetime or annual limits permitted for essential pediatric dental 
benefits 45 CFR §155.1065(a)(2) 

 

  

B15.  Essential pediatric dental benefit must be included in all contracts 
sold on the Exchange, including contracts issued only to adults 
Sec. 1311(d)(2)(B)(ii) of the ACA 

 

  

 
C.   Stand-alone Dental Plan Standards 45 CFR §155.1065(a)(3).  Applicable to Qualified Dental 

Plans sold on the Exchange (§31-101(p)), but not to Exchange Certified Stand-Alone Dental 
Plans sold outside the Exchange (§31-116(f)(1)(ii)) 

 
C1.  Premium rates for the employer must be set for the entire plan 

year 45 CFR  §156.210(a) 
 

  

C2.  Plan year defined as a consecutive 12 month period during which 
the carrier provides coverage for dental benefits 45 CFR §155.20 

 

  

C3   Exchange will collect premium payments from the employer and 
make payments to the carrier 45 CFR §155.705(b)(4) 

 

  

C4.  Minimum employee participation rate may not be applied to the 
rate of participation in the particular qualified dental plan 45 CFR 
§§155.705(b)(10) and 156.285(e) 
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                                                     Applicable  Page 

C5.  Qualified employer definition 45 CFR 155.710(b);  §31-101(q) 
 

  

C6.  Small employer definition §31-101(z) 
 

  

 
D.   Open Enrollment and Special Enrollment Periods 45 CFR §156.285(b).  Applicable to 

Qualified Dental Plans sold on the Exchange (§31-101(p)), but not to Exchange Certified 
Stand-Alone Dental Plans sold outside the Exchange (§31-116(f)(1)(ii)) 

 
D1.  Annual employee open enrollment period of no less than 30 days 

45 CFR §§156.285 (b)(1) and 155.725(e) 
• the effective date is established by the Exchange  45 CFR § 

155.725(h)(1) 
  

  

D2.  Enrollment period of at least 30 days for new employees 45 CFR 
§§156.285(b)(3) and 155.725(g) 
• the effective date of coverage for new employees must 

always be the first day of a month 45 CFR § 155.725(g)(2) 
 

  

D3.  Special enrollment period of 30 days for certain “triggering 
events” 45 CFR §156.285(b)(2) and §155.725(j) 

  

   
a. Eligible employee or dependent loses minimum essential 

coverage 45 CFR §155.420 (d)(1) 
• does not include loss of coverage due to voluntary 

termination*, failure to pay premiums on a timely basis, 
including COBRA premiums or loss due to a rescission 
authorized under 45 CFR §147.128 (*45 CFR §155.420(e))  

 

  

b. Loss of pregnancy related coverage under section 
1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(IV) and (a)(10)(A)(ii)(IX)  of the Social Security 
Act (Medicaid) by eligible employee or dependent- 
45CFR§155.420(d)(1) 

 

  

c. Loss of medically needy coverage as described under section 
1902(a)(10)(C) of the Social Security Act- 45 CFR § 
155.420(d)(1) 

 

  

d. Eligible employee or dependent is enrolled in any non-calendar 
year group health plan or individual health insurance coverage, 
even if individual or dependent has the option to renew such 
coverage. The date of the loss of coverage is the last day of the 
plan or policy year.  45 CFR § 155.420(d)(1)(ii) 

 

  

e. Individual gains a dependent or becomes a dependent through 
marriage, birth, adoption, placement for adoption, or placement in 
foster care or through a child support order or other court order 
45 CFR §155.420 (d)(2)(i) 
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f. The enrollee loses a dependent or is no longer considered a 
dependent through divorce or legal separation, or if the enrollee, 
or his or her dependent, dies  45 CFR §155.420 (d)(2)(ii) 

 

  

g. The eligible employee’s or dependent’s enrollment or non-
enrollment is unintentional, inadvertent or erroneous and is the 
result of an error, misrepresentation, misconduct, or inaction of 
an officer, employee, or agent of the Exchange or HHS, its 
instrumentalities, or a non-Exchange entity providing enrollment 
assistance or conducting enrollment activities. -45 CFR §155.420 
(d)(4) 

 

  

h. Eligible employee or dependent enrolled in the SHOP exchange 
demonstrates to the Exchange that the qualified plan 
substantially violated a material provision of its contract in relation 
to the eligible employee or dependent  45 CFR §155.420 (d)(5) 

 

  

i. Eligible employee or dependent gains access to new plans due 
to a permanent move 45 CFR §155.420 (d)(7) 

 

  

j. Eligible employee or dependent enrolled in the SHOP Exchange 
demonstrates to the Exchange, in accordance with HHS 
guidelines, that the eligible employee or dependent meets other 
exceptional circumstances 45 CFR §155.420 (d)(9)  

 

  

D4. Individuals who are Indians may change dental plans on the 
Exchange once per month 45 CFR §155.420 (d)(8) 

 

  

D5. Special enrollment period of 60 days 45 CFR § 155.725(j)(3)(ii) 
• loss of eligibility for coverage under a Medicaid plan or CHIP 

plan or 
• becoming eligible for assistance, with respect to coverage 

under the SHOP Exchange, under such Medicaid or CHIP 
plan 

45 CFR § 155.725(j)(2)(ii) and (iii)) 
 

  

D6. Effective dates of coverage for individuals who enroll during a 
special enrollment period 45 CFR §155.420(b) 
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a. In the case of loss of minimum essential coverage, loss of 
pregnancy related coverage, loss of medical needy coverage, 
loss of coverage under a non-calendar year group or individual 
plan, or gaining access to new plans due to a permanent move, 
the effective date is based on date of plan selection—if plan 
selection is made on or before the date of the triggering event, 
new coverage becomes effective the first of the following month.  
If plan selection occurs after the date of the triggering event, the 
first day of the following month when a selection is made 
between the 1st and 15th* day of any month; and the first day of 
the second following month when a selection is made between 
the 16th and the last day of any month 45 CFR 
§155.420(b)(2)(iv). 

 

  

b. In the case of birth, adoption, placement for adoption, or 
placement in foster care, the date of birth, adoption, placement 
for adoption, or placement in foster care  45 CFR 
§155.420(b)(2)(i) 

 

  

c. In the case of a court order, the date the court order is effective or 
if permitted by the Exchange the individual may elect a coverage 
effective date of the first day of the following month when a 
selection is received between the 1st and 15th day of any month; 
and the first day of the second following month when a selection 
is received between the 16th and the last day of any month. 45 
CFR § 155.420(b)(2)(v) 

 

  

d. In the case of marriage, the first day of the month following plan 
selection  45 CFR §155.420(b)(2)(ii) 

 

  

e.  In the case of an individual eligible for special enrollment when:  
1. enrollment or non-enrollment was unintentional, inadvertent 

or erroneous and the result of an error misrepresentation, 
misconduct, or inaction of an officer, employee, or agent of 
the Exchange or HHS, its instrumentalities, or a non-
Exchange entity providing enrollment assistance or 
conducting enrollment activities;  

2. the qualified plan substantially violated a material provision 
of its contract with the individual; or 

3. the individual meets other exceptional circumstances, 
 

the effective date is an appropriate date based on the specific 
circumstances and  is determined by the Exchange 45 CFR 
§155.420 (b)(2)(iii) 
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f. In the case of the enrollee who loses a dependent or is no longer 
considered a dependent because a dependent dies, the first day 
of the month following the plan selection, or if permitted by the 
Exchange the individual may elect a coverage effective date of 
the first day of the following month when a selection is received 
between the 1st and 15th day of any month; and the first day of 
the second following month when a selection is received between 
the 16th and the last day of any month. 45 CFR § 
155.420(b)(2)(vi) 

 

  

g. For all other triggering events: the first day of the following month 
when a selection is received by the Exchange between the 1st 
and 15th day of any month; and the first day of the second 
following month when a selection is received by the Exchange  
between the 16th and the last day of any month 45 CFR 
§155.420(b)(1) 

 

  

 
E. Termination of Coverage Requirements 45 CFR §156.285(d).  Applicable to Qualified Dental 

Plans sold on the Exchange (§31-101(p)), but not to Exchange Certified Stand-Alone Dental 
Plans sold outside the Exchange (§31-116(f)(1)(ii)) 

 
E1. Carrier  may only terminate coverage: 

• when covered person is no longer eligible in the plan; 
• when the employee requests that the Exchange terminate the 

coverage of the employee or dependent under the employer’s 
group plan; 

• for non-payment of premiums; 
• when coverage is rescinded in accordance with 45 CFR 

§147.128; 
• when the qualified dental plan terminates or is decertified; 
• when the covered person changes from one qualified dental 

plan to another during an annual open enrollment period or 
special enrollment period 

 45 CFR §§156.285(d)(1)(i)(A) and 155.735(d) 
 

  

E2. When an enrollee’s coverage in the SHOP is terminated, carrier 
must notify the employer and the enrollee of the termination 
within 3 business days for an electronic notice and 5 business 
days for a mailed hard copy notice. Notice must include the 
termination effective date and the reason for the termination. One 
notice may be sent if primary subscriber and dependents live at 
the same address. 45 CFR § 156.285(d)(1)(ii) 

 

  

E3. Effective dates of termination of coverage  are as established by 
the Exchange 45 CFR §§156.285(d)(1)(iii) and 155.735(d) 

 

  

 
F.  Required Standard Provisions 
 
F1.  Entire Contract; Changes COMAR 31.11.10.04A 
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F2.  Contestability of the Contract COMAR 31.11.10.04B  
 

  

F3.  Notice of Claim COMAR 31.11.10.04C 
 

  

F4.  Claims Forms COMAR 31.11.10.04D 
 

  

F5.  Proofs of Loss COMAR 31.11.10.04E 
• Provider must be permitted minimum of 180 days to file 

claim §15-1005(d) 
 

  

F6.  Time Payment of Claims COMAR 31.11.10.04F 
 

  

F7.  Payment of Claims COMAR 31.11.10.04G 
 

  

F8.  Legal Action COMAR 31.11.10.04H 
 

  

F9.  Grace Period COMAR 31.11.10.04I 
 

  

F10. Certificates COMAR 31.11.10.04J 
 

  

F11. Addition of Employees/Members COMAR 31.11.10.04K 
 

  

F12. Misstatement of Age COMAR 31.11.10.04L 
 

  

F13. Premium Due Date COMAR 31.11.10.04N 
  

  

 
G. Optional Standard Provisions 
 
G1.  Physical Examination COMAR 31.11.10.07A 
 

  

G2.  Autopsy COMAR 31.11.10.07B  
 

  

G3.  Arbitration COMAR 31.11.10.07C 
 

  

 
H.  Other 
 
H1.  Incapacitated Child §15-402  
 

  

H2. Newborn/Adopted Children/Grandchildren/Guardianship  §§15-
401, 15-403 and 15-403.1 

 

  

H3.  Court Ordered Coverage of Children §15-405 
 

  

H4.  Extension of Benefits §15-833(j) 
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H5.  Benefits for Adult Dental Preventive Care 
• Annual dental preventive care visit must be covered if 

provided at any time during the plan year – may not require 
visit to occur after a specified time period (e.g. 12 months) 
following prior visit 

• If the contract provides benefits for dental preventive care 
more often than once per plan year, the contract may not 
require that the visits be separated by more than 120 days 
§15-135.1 

 

  

H6. Preferred Provider Contracts  
 

  

a. Coinsurance Differential – Difference between coinsurance 
percentage for non-preferred and preferred providers may not 
exceed 20 percentage points §14-205(b)(2) 

 

  

b. Coinsurance amounts for preferred provider must be based on 
negotiated fees with insurer §15-118(c)  

 

  

c. Allowed Amounts – The allowed amount paid to non-preferred 
providers for a health care service covered under a PPO 
contract may not be less than the allowed amount paid to a 
similarly licensed provider who is a preferred provider for the 
same service in the same region §14-205(b)(4) 

 

  

d. Right to Standing Referral to Network Specialist (gatekeeper 
plans only) §15-830(b) 

 

  

e. Right to Request Referral to Specialist Not on Carrier’s Provider 
Panel §15-830(d) 
• Referral must be granted if the carrier cannot provide 

reasonable access to a specialist without unreasonable travel 
or delay 

 

  

f. Office to file complaints §15-112(j)(4) 
 

  

g. Receiving carrier requirements for members transitioning to                   
carrier’s plan §15-140(d) 

 

  

h. Exclusive Provider Benefit – May not restrict payment for certain 
covered services provided by non-preferred providers: 
• For an unforeseen illness, injury or condition requiring 

immediate care §14-205.1(a)(2)(ii) 
• As required under §15-830 

 

  

H7.  Standard of Time COMAR 31.10.01.03C 
 

  

H8.  Must give at least 45 days notice of premium increase at 
renewal §15-122 

 

  

H9.  Health Care Providers §15-701 
 

  

9 



Brief Description & Law/Regulation Cite     "X" Means  Form/ 
                                                     Applicable  Page 

H10. Payment of Interest on Unpaid Claims §15-1005(f)  
 

  

H11. Reimbursement for Services Paid for or Provided by 
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene §15-603 

 

  

H12. Complaint process for coverage decisions Title 15, Subtitle 
10D 

 

  

H13. Required Exclusion for Prohibited Health Care Practitioner                       
Referrals §15-110(d) 

 

  

H14. Contract Governed by Maryland Law and Maryland Courts §12-
209(1), (2), and (4) 

 

  

 
I.  Prohibited Provisions, Limitations and Exclusions 
 
I1. Reimbursement Language COMAR 31.10.01.03P 
 

  

I2. Strict Compliance Language COMAR 31.10.01.03Q 
 

  

I3. Denial of Reimbursement for Pre-authorized Care Prohibited 
Except for Limited Reasons §15-1009 

 

  

I4. Reduction for Medical Assistance Program §15-502 
 

  

I5. Exclusion for loss due to insured’s commission or attempt to 
commit a crime COMAR 31.11.10.06A 

 

  

I6.  Exclusion for loss to which a contributing cause was the 
insured’s being engaged in an illegal occupation COMAR 
31.11.10.06B 

 

  

I7. Exclusion for loss due to use of alcohol or drugs COMAR 
31.11.10.06C 

 

  

I8. Coordination of Benefits 
• May not coordinate against guaranteed renewable 

individual intensive care or specified disease policies §15-
104(c) 

• May not provide benefits that are secondary to benefits 
payable under Personal Injury Protection (PIP) §15-104(d) 

• Excess of other insurance clause prohibited §12-205(b)(4) 
 

  

 
J.  Utilization Review 
 
J1.  Initial authorization of course of treatment made: 

a. For non-emergencies, within 2 working days of receipt of 
information necessary to make determination §15-10B-
06(a)(1)(i) 
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b. For additional health care services, within 1 working day of 
receipt of necessary information §15-10B-06(a)(1)(ii) 

 

  

J2. Notice of adverse decision must be provided within 5 working 
days after adverse decision is made to member, member’s 
representative and a health care provider acting on behalf of 
the member §15-10A-02(f)(2) 

 

  

J3. May not retroactively deny approval of preauthorized services 
§15-10B-07(c) 

 

  

J4. Company not certified as Private Review Agent in Maryland 
§15-1001, Title 15, Subtitle 10B; COMAR 31.10.18 

 

  

J5.  Grievance Procedure Not Included.  Please Advise Where 
Grievance Information Is Provided - §15-10A-02(k), Title 15, 
Subtitle 10A 

 

  

J6. When carrier is the receiving carrier, the carrier must, upon 
request, accept a preauthorization from the relinquishing carrier 
for the lesser of the course of treatment or 90 days §15-140(c) 

 

  

 

11 


