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DENTAL PLAN ORGANIZATIONS—GROUP STAND-ALONE DENTAL COVERAGE OFFERED THROUGH 
THE SHOP EXCHANGE OR CERTIFIED TO BE SOLD OUTSIDE THE EXCHANGE with POLICY YEARS 

THAT BEGIN ON OR AFTER JANUARY 1, 2026 
 
 
COMPANY: 
 

NAIC Code: 
 

FORM(S): 
 
DATE: 
 
SERFF TRACKING NO.: 
 

 
The items listed below may paraphrase the law or regulation.  The checklist is not required to be included 
with a form filing. It should be used as a guide in determining which laws and regulations apply to the contract. 
Unless otherwise specified, all section references are to the Insurance Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland.  
 
 
A. Filing Incomplete or in Unacceptable Format 

 
 Citation Description "X" Means 

Applicable 
Form/ 
Page 

A1. 45 CFR §156.150(b) Certification of the actuarial value of coverage 
for the pediatric dental EHBs by a member of the 
American Academy of Actuaries using generally 
accepted actuarial principles 
 

  

A2. 45 CFR §156.150(a)(1) 
and (2) 
2026 CMS Letter to 
Issuers dated January 15, 
2025 

2026 Annual limitation on cost-sharing for 
essential pediatric dental benefits (such annual 
limit is calculated without regard to EHBs 
provided by the QHP and without regard to out-
of-network services) 

• $450 - one child 
• $900 - 2 or more children (in aggregate) 

 

  

45 CFR §155.20 Cost-sharing defined as any expenditure 
required by or on behalf of an enrollee with 
respect to essential pediatric dental benefits; 
such term includes deductibles, coinsurance, 
copayments, or similar charges 
 

  

A3. MIA Bulletin 25-1 Separate schedule of benefit form for each plan 
design with specific combination of benefits and 
cost-sharing 
 

  

A4. COMAR 31.04.17.04A(2) Form contains text in brackets, denoting 
variability.  Only specific items allowed for 
variability.  Submit specific description of how 
each bracketed item will vary.  If other items 
are desired, include the item 
 

  

A5. COMAR 31.12.04.10A Premium Rates and Actuarial Memorandum 
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 Citation Description "X" Means 
Applicable 

Form/ 
Page 

A6. COMAR 31.04.17.03-I(2) If the filing is not being made by the DPO, the 
filer must submit a signed third party 
authorization letter from the DPO. 
 

  

A7. COMAR 31.04.17.03D Form Number 
 

  

A8. COMAR 31.04.17.03G 
 

Corporate Name    

A9. COMAR 31.04.17.03H 
 

Unacceptable Modifications 
 

  

A10. COMAR 31.04.17.03K 
 

Specimen Data 
 

  

A11. COMAR 31.04.17.03M 
 

Signature of Officer 
 

  

A12. COMAR 31.04.17.07 
 

Advertising Prohibited 
 

  

A13. COMAR 31.04.17.03E 
 

Size of Type 
 

  

A14. COMAR 31.12.04.09B(4) Illegible Form 
 

  

A15. §2-112(a)(10) 
 

Filing Fees Insufficient 
 

  

A16. COMAR 31.04.17.04B 
 

Contracts Comprised of Insert Pages 
 

  

A17. COMAR 31.04.17.04C 
 

Contracts Comprised of Sections 
 

  

 
B. Essential Pediatric Dental Benefits (Benchmark Plan-MCHIP dental benefit) 
 
 Citation Description "X" Means 

Applicable 
Form/ 
Page 

B1. 45 CFR § 156.115(a)(6) Coverage provided until at least the end of 
the month in which the child turns 19 years of 
age  
 

  

B2. MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 
15-33 

Periodic screening in accordance with the 
periodicity schedule developed by the American 
Academy of Pediatric Dentistry  
 

  

B3. MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 
15-33 

Diagnostic services included in the Maryland 
Children’s Health Insurance Plan (MCHIP) 
dental benefit  
 

  

B4. MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 
15-33 

Preventive services included in the MCHIP 
dental benefit  

 

  

§15-135.1 • Annual dental preventive care visit must 
be covered if provided at any time 
during the plan year – may not require 
visit to occur after a specified time 
period (e.g. 12 months) following prior 
visit 
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 Citation Description "X" Means 
Applicable 

Form/ 
Page 

• If the contract provides benefits for 
dental preventive care more often than 
once per plan year, the contract may not 
require that the visits be separated by 
more than 120 days 
 

B5. MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 
15-33 

Restorative services included in the MCHIP 
dental benefit  
 

  

B6. MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 
15-33 

Endodontic services included in the MCHIP 
dental benefit 
 

  

B7. MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 
15-33 

Periodontic services included in the MCHIP 
dental benefit 
 

  

B8. MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 
15-33 

Removable prosthodontics services included in 
the MCHIP dental benefit 
 

  

B9. MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 
15-33 

Maxillofacial prosthetics included in the MCHIP 
dental benefit (codes D5992 and D 5993) 
 

  

B10. MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 
15-33 

Fixed prosthodontic services included in the 
MCHIP dental benefit-(D6930-recement fixed 
partial denture) 
 

  

B11. MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 
15-33 

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery included in the 
MCHIP dental benefit 
 

  

B12. MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 
15-33 

Orthodontics included in the MCHIP dental 
benefit - only for children with severe, 
dysfunctional, handicapping malocclusion 

 

  

CMS FAQ on Health 
Insurance Market Reforms 
and Marketplace 
Standards, May 26, 2016 
 

• Waiting period may NOT be applied  
 

  

B13. MIA Bulletins 13-01 and 
15-33 

Adjunctive general dental services included in 
the MCHIP dental benefit 
 

  

B14. 45 CFR §155.1065(a)(2) No lifetime or annual limits permitted for 
essential pediatric dental benefits 
 

  

B15. Sec. 1311(d)(2)(B)(ii) of 
the ACA 

Essential pediatric dental benefit must be 
included in all contracts sold on the Exchange, 
including contracts issued only to adults 
 

  

 
  



4 
 

C. Stand-alone Dental Plan Standards 45 CFR §155.1065(a)(3).  Applicable to Qualified Dental Plans sold 
on the Exchange (§31-101(q)), but not to Exchange Certified Stand-Alone Dental Plans sold outside the 
Exchange (§31-116(f)(1)(ii)) 

 
 Citation Description "X" Means 

Applicable 
Form/ 
Page 

C1. 45 CFR §155.706(b)(6) 
45 CFR §156.210(a) 

Premium rates for the employer must be set for 
the entire plan year  
 

  

C2. 45 CFR §155.20 Plan year defined as a consecutive 12 month 
period during which the dental plan organization 
provides coverage for dental benefits  
 

  

C3. 45 CFR §155.706(b)(10) 
§156.286(d);  

Minimum employee participation rate may not be 
applied to the rate of participation in the 
particular qualified dental plan  
 

  

C4. 45 CFR 155.710(b) 
§31-101(r) 
 

Qualified employer definition   

C5. §31-101(aa) Small employer definition  
 

  

 
D. Open Enrollment and Special Enrollment Periods 45 CFR §156.286(b).  Applicable to Qualified Dental 

Plans sold on the Exchange (§31-101(q)), but not to Exchange Certified Stand-Alone Dental Plans sold 
outside the Exchange (§31-116(f)(1)(ii)) 

 
 Citation Description "X" Means 

Applicable 
Form/ 
Page 

D1. §15-1208.2(b) Annual open enrollment period of no less than 
30 days for employees of small employer to 
enroll, discontinue enrollment, or change 
enrollment   
 

  

D2.  §15-1208.2(c) Enrollment period of at least 30 days for new 
employees 
 

  

42 USC §300gg-7 
45 CFR §147.116 
§15-1A-12 

• Waiting period for an otherwise eligible 
employee to enroll may not exceed 90 
days   

 

  

D3. §15-1208.1(b) Special enrollment period of 30 days for 
employee/dependent who loses other coverage 
 

  

D4. §15-1208.1(c)(1) Special enrollment period of 31 days for 
individuals who become dependents of 
employee through marriage, birth, adoption, 
placement for adoption, or placement for foster 
care 
 

  

§15-1208.1(c)(2) • Permit employee to enroll himself when 
he or she acquires new dependents  

 

  

§15-1208.1(c)(3) • For spouse of employee at birth or 
adoption of child, or placement of a 
child in foster care, or through a child 
support order or other court order. 
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 Citation Description "X" Means 
Applicable 

Form/ 
Page 

D5. §15-1208.1(c)(4) At the option of the Exchange, special 
enrollment period of 31 days for an enrollee 
who is the eligible employee or spouse if the 
enrollee loses a dependent or is no longer 
considered a dependent through divorce or 
legal separation, or if the employee, or his or 
her dependent, dies 

 

  

D6. §15-1208.2(d), Senate Bill 
217, Chpt. 118, Acts of 
2024, effective 10/1/2024 
45 CFR §156.286(b)  
45 CFR §155.726(c)(2)(i) 
 

Special enrollment period of 30 days for certain 
“triggering events” 
 

  

§15-1208.2(d)(4)(i) 
45 CFR §155.420(d)(1)(i) 

a. Eligible employee or dependent loses 
minimum essential coverage. The date of 
the loss of coverage is the last day the 
consumer would have coverage under his 
or her previous plan or coverage. 

 

  

§15-1208.2(d)(5) 
45 CFR §155.420(e) 

• Does not include loss of coverage due 
to voluntary termination, failure to pay 
premiums on a timely basis, including 
COBRA premiums prior to the expiration 
of COBRA, or loss due to a rescission 
authorized under 45 CFR §147.128 
 

  

§15-1208.2(d)(4)(ii) 
45 CFR §155.420(d)(1)(iii) 
 

b. Employee or dependent loses pregnancy 
related coverage under 
§1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(IV) and (a)(10)(A)(ii)(IX) 
of the Social Security Act (Medicaid) or 
loses access to health care services 
through coverage provided to a pregnant 
woman’s unborn child. The date of the loss 
of coverage is the last day the qualified 
individual would have pregnancy-related 
coverage or access to health care services 
through the unborn child coverage. 
 

  

§15-1208.2(d)(4)(iii) 
45 CFR § 155.420(d)(1)(iv) 

c. Eligible employee or dependent loses 
medically needy coverage as described 
under section 1902(a)(10)(C) of the Social 
Security Act. The date of the loss of 
coverage is the last day the consumer 
would have medically needy coverage. 
 

  

§15-1208.2(d)(6) • Permitted only once per year per 
individual 

 

  

§15-1208.2(d)(4)(iv) 
45 CFR §155.420(d)(5) 

d. Eligible employee or a dependent enrolled 
in the SHOP Exchange adequately 
demonstrates to the Exchange that the 
qualified plan substantially violated a 
material provision of its contract in relation 
to the eligible employee or dependent   
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 §15-1208.2(d)(4)(x) 
45 CFR §155.420(d)(7) 
45 CFR §155.420(a)(5) 

e. Eligible employee or dependent gains 
access to new qualified health plans due to 
a permanent move and had minimum 
essential coverage for one or more days 
during the 60 days preceding the move 

 
• Employee/dependent may satisfy prior 

coverage requirement by demonstrating 
that they: 
 
o Had minimum essential coverage; 
o Had pregnancy related coverage or 

access to healthcare services 
through unborn child coverage 
described in 45 CFR § 
155.420(d)(1)(iii) 

o Had medically needy coverage 
described in 45 CFR § 
155.420(d)(1)(iv) 

o Are an Indian; 
o Lived in a foreign country or in a 

United States territory for one or 
more days during the 60 days 
preceding the move; or 

o For 1 or more days during the 60 
days preceding the move or during 
their most recent preceding open 
enrollment period or special 
enrollment period, lived in a service 
area where no qualified dental plan 
was available through the SHOP 
Exchange 

 

  

§15-1208.2(d)(4)(vi)4 
45 CFR §155.420(d)(9) 

f. Eligible employee or dependent enrolled in 
the SHOP Exchange demonstrates to the 
Exchange, in accordance with HHS 
guidelines, that the eligible employee or 
dependent meets other exceptional 
circumstances 

 

  

§15-1208.2(d)(4)(vi)1 
45 CFR §155.420(d)(4) 

g. The eligible employee’s or dependent’s 
enrollment or non-enrollment is 
unintentional, inadvertent or erroneous and 
is the result of an error, misrepresentation, 
misconduct, or inaction of an officer, 
employee, or agent of the Exchange or 
HHS, its instrumentalities, or a non-
Exchange entity providing enrollment 
assistance or conducting enrollment 
activities 
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 §15-1208.2(d)(4)(vii) and 
(d)(10) 
45 CFR § 155.420(d)(10) 

h. Eligible employee is a victim of domestic 
abuse or spousal abandonment, including a 
dependent within a household, is enrolled 
in minimum essential coverage and seeks 
to enroll in coverage separate from the 
perpetrator of the abuse or abandonment; 
or is a dependent of a victim of domestic 
abuse or spousal abandonment, on the 
same application as the victim, and seeks 
to enroll in coverage at the same time as 
the victim 
 

  

§15-1208.2(d)(4)(viii) and 
(ix) 
45 CFR § 155.420(d)(11) 

i. Eligible employee or dependent applies for 
coverage on the Individual Exchange 
during the annual open enrollment period or 
due to a qualifying event, is assessed by 
the Exchange as potentially eligible for 
Medicaid or the Children's Health Insurance 
Program (CHIP), and is determined 
ineligible for Medicaid or CHIP by the State 
Medicaid or CHIP agency either after open 
enrollment has ended or more than 60 days 
after the qualifying event OR applies for 
coverage at the State Medicaid or CHIP 
agency during the annual open enrollment 
period, and is determined ineligible for 
Medicaid or CHIP after open enrollment 
has ended. 

 

  

§15-1208.2(d)(4)(vi)3 and 
(d)(11), SB 217, Chpt.118, 
Acts of 2024, effective 
10/1/2024 
45 CFR § 155.420(d)(12) 

j. The eligible employee’s or dependent’s 
enrollment in a qualified dental plan through 
the Exchange was influenced by a material 
error related to plan benefits, service area, 
cost sharing or premium.  A material error is 
one that is likely to have influenced the 
eligible employee's or dependent’s 
enrollment in a qualified dental plan. 

 

  

D7. §15-1208.2(d)(9) 
45 CFR §155.726(c)(3)(ii) 
 

Special enrollment period of 60 days   

§15-1208.2(d)(4)(v)1 
45 CFR §155.726(c)(2)(ii) 
 

Loss of eligibility for coverage under a Medicaid 
plan or CHIP plan 

  

§15-1208.2(d)(4)(v)2. 
45 CFR §155.726(c)(2)(iii) 
 

• Becomes eligible for assistance, with 
respect to coverage under the SHOP 
Exchange, under such Medicaid or 
CHIP plan 

 

  

D8. §15-1208.2(d)(4)(vi)2. and 
(d)(8) 
45 CFR §155.420(d)(8) 
45 CFR § 155.726(c)(2)(i) 
 

Eligible employees who gain or maintain status 
as Indians may enroll in or change to any 
qualified dental plan on the Exchange once per 
month 
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 45 CFR §155.420(d)(8)(ii) • Individual who is or becomes a 
dependent of an Indian, and is enrolled 
or is enrolling in a plan on the same 
application as the Indian, may change 
plans one time per month at the same 
time as the Indian 

 

  

D9. 
 

§15-1208.1(f) 
§15-1208.2(e) 
45 CFR §155.420(b) 
 

Effective dates of coverage for individuals who 
enroll during a special enrollment period 

  

45 CFR §155.420(b)(2)(iv) 
88 FR 25827 

a. In the case of loss of: 
 

1. Loss of minimum essential coverage; 
 

2. Loss of pregnancy related coverage; 
 

3. Loss of unborn child coverage; 
 

4. Loss of medically needy coverage; or 
 

5. Gaining access to new plans due to a 
permanent move 
 

The effective date is as follows: 
 
• If plan selection is made on or before 

the date of the triggering event, the 
Exchange must ensure coverage is 
effective on the first day of the month 
following the date of the triggering 
event. 

• If plan selection is made after the date 
of the triggering event, coverage is 
effective on the first day of the month 
following plan selection.  

• For losses of coverage [45 CFR 
§§155.420(d)(1)], at the option of the 
Exchange, if plan selection is made on 
or before the last day of the month 
preceding the triggering event, the 
Exchange must ensure the coverage 
effective date is the first day of the 
month in which the triggering event 
occurs 

 

   

§15-1208.1(f)(1)(ii)-(iv) 
45 CFR §155.420(b)(2)(i) 
§15-401(b)(2) 

b. In the case of birth, adoption, placement for 
adoption, or placement for foster care, the 
date of birth, adoption, or placement for 
adoption or foster care 
 

  

§15-1208.1(f)(1)(v) 
45 CFR §155.420(b)(2)(i) 

c. In the case of a child support order or other 
court order, the effective date of the court 
order 
• If permitted by the Exchange, the 

individual may instead elect a coverage 
effective date of the first day of the 
month following plan selection.  
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§15-1208.1(f)(1)(i) 
45 CFR §155.420(b)(2)(ii) 
 

d. In the case of marriage, the first day of the 
month following plan selection 

  

45 CFR §155.420(b)(2)(iii) e. In the case of an individual eligible for 
special enrollment when: 
 
1. Enrollment or non-enrollment was 

unintentional, inadvertent or erroneous 
and the result of an error 
misrepresentation, misconduct, or 
inaction of an officer, employee, or agent 
of by the Exchange or HHS, its 
instrumentalities, or a non-Exchange 
entity providing enrollment assistance or 
conducting enrollment activities; 
 

2. The qualified plan substantially violated 
a material provision of its contract with 
the individual; 
 

3. The individual meets other exceptional 
circumstances; 
 

4. The individual applies for coverage on 
the Individual Exchange during the 
annual open enrollment period or due to 
a qualifying event, is assessed by the 
Exchange as potentially eligible for 
Medicaid or the Children's Health 
Insurance Program (CHIP), and is 
determined ineligible for Medicaid or 
CHIP by the State Medicaid or CHIP 
agency either after open enrollment has 
ended or more than 60 days after the 
qualifying event OR applies for coverage 
at the State Medicaid or CHIP agency 
during the annual open enrollment 
period, and is determined ineligible for 
Medicaid or CHIP after open enrollment 
has ended; or 
 

5. The individual’s enrollment in a qualified 
dental plan through the Exchange was 
influenced by a material error related to 
plan benefits, service area, cost sharing 
or premium. 

 
The effective date is an appropriate date 
based on the specific circumstances and is 
determined by the Exchange 
 

  

§15-1208.1(g)(1) 
45 CFR §155.420(b)(2)(v) 
 

f. In the case of an individual or dependent 
who dies, the first day of the month following 
the plan selection. 
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§15-1208.1(g)(2) 
45 CFR §155.420(b)(1) 

g. In the case of an eligible employee who 
loses a dependent or is no longer 
considered a dependent through divorce or 
legal separation, the first day of the month 
after the individual selects a plan. 
 

  

§15-1208.2(e) 
45 CFR §155.420(b)(1) 
 

h. For all other triggering events the first day of 
month after the individual selects a plan. 

 

  

 
E. Dental Benefit Contract Required Provisions 
 
 Citation Description "X" Means 

Applicable 
Form/ 
Page 

E1. COMAR 31.12.04.04A Effective Date 
 

  

E2. COMAR 31.12.04.04D Eligibility and effective date for members of the 
group 
 

  

E3. COMAR 31.12.04.04B 
 

Payment of Premium   

E4. COMAR 31.12.04.04C 
COMAR 31.12.04.05 
 

Grace Period   

E5. COMAR 31.12.04.04E 
 

Benefit Description   

E6. COMAR 31.12.04.04F 
 

Copayment Description   

E7. COMAR 31.12.04.04G 
 

Service Area Description   

E8. COMAR 31.12.04.04H 
 

Out-of-Area Emergency   

E9. COMAR 31.12.04.04I(1) Referral to Specialist (closed panel plans only) 
 

  

E10. §15-830(b) 
 

Right to Standing Referral to Network Specialist 
(gatekeeper plans only) 
 

  

E11. §15-830(d) 
 

Right to Request Referral to Specialist Not on 
Dental Plan’s Provider Panel 

• Referral must be granted if the dental 
plan cannot provide reasonable access 
to a specialist without unreasonable 
travel or delay 
 

  

E12. COMAR 31.12.04.04I(2) Inability to Provide Services - Circumstances 
Beyond the Plan’s Control (closed panel plans 
only) 
 

  

E13. §15-140(d) Receiving carrier requirements for members 
transitioning to dental plan 
 

  

E14. COMAR 31.12.04.04J Termination 
 

  

E15. COMAR 31.12.04.04K 
Title 15, Subtitle 10A, 
Senate Bill 791, Chpt. 848, 
Acts of 2024, effective 
1/1/2025 
 

Grievance Procedure   
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 Citation Description "X" Means 
Applicable 

Form/ 
Page 

E16. COMAR 31.12.04.04K 
Title 15, Subtitle 10D 
 

Complaint Process for Coverage Decisions   

E17. §15-112(q) Office to file complaints 
 

  

E18. COMAR 31.12.04.04L 
§15-833 
 

Extension of Benefits   

E19. §15-110(d) Required Exclusion for Prohibited Health Care 
Practitioner Referrals 
 

  

 
F. Optional Provisions 
 
 Citation Description "X" Means 

Applicable 
Form/ 
Page 

F1. COMAR 31.12.04.07B(1) Missed Appointment Fee 
 

  

F2. COMAR 31.12.04.07B(2) Premium Increase 
• Contract holder must be given at least 

45 days written notice before the 
effective date of the increase 

 

  

F3. COMAR 31.12.04.07B(3) Penalty for voluntary withdrawal during first year 
of coverage  
 

  

F4. COMAR 31.12.04.07B(4) Patient Charge Schedule Increase  
• Contract holder must be given at least 

30 days written notice before the 
effective date of the increase and 
present schedule must have been in 
effect for at least 12 months 
 

  

F5. COMAR 31.12.04.07B(5) Refusal to Follow Treatment  
 

  

 
G. Other 
 
 Citation Description "X" Means 

Applicable 
Form/ 
Page 

G1. COMAR 31.12.04.07D Incapacitated Child  
 

  

G2. §15-401  
§15-403 
§15-403.1 
 

Newborn/Adopted Children/ Grandchildren/ 
Guardianship (expense-incurred contracts only) 
 

  

G3. §15-405 Court Ordered Coverage of Children 
 

  

G4. §12-209(3) Legal Actions 
 

  

G5. §12-209(1), (2) Subject to Maryland Law 
 

  

G6. §14-415(b) Use of “Insurance” Prohibited 
 

  

  



12 
 

G7. §15-135.1 Benefits for Adult Dental Preventive Care 
•    Annual dental preventive care visit must 

be covered if provided at any time 
during the plan year – may not require 
visit to occur after a specified time 
period (e.g. 12 months) following prior 
visit 

•    If the contract provides benefits for 
dental preventive care more often than 
once per plan year, the contract may not 
require that the visits be separated by 
more than 120 days 
 

  

G8.  Preferred Provider Contracts with Expense-
Incurred Benefits 
 

  

§14-205(b)(2) a. Coinsurance Differential – Difference 
between coinsurance percentage for non-
preferred and preferred providers may not 
exceed 20 percentage points 
 

  

§15-118(c) b. Coinsurance amounts for preferred 
provider must be based on negotiated fees 
with insurer 
 

  

§14-205(b)(4) c. Allowed Amounts – The allowed amount 
paid to non-preferred providers for a health 
care service covered under a PPO contract 
may not be less than the allowed amount 
paid to a similarly licensed provider who is 
a preferred provider for the same service in 
the same region 
 

  

G9. §15-1009 Denial of Reimbursement for Pre-authorized 
Care Prohibited Except for Limited Reasons 
 

  

G10. §15-1005(e) Provider must be permitted minimum of 180 
days to file a claim for reimbursement 
 

  

G11. §15-1005(g) Payment of Interest on Unpaid Claims 
 

  

G12.  Coordination of Benefits 
 

  

§15-104(c) •    May not coordinate against guaranteed 
renewable individual intensive care or 
specified disease policies 

 

  

§15-104(d) 
 

•    May not provide benefits that are 
secondary to benefits payable under 
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) 

 

  

 
H. Evidence of Coverage 
 
 Citation Description "X" Means 

Applicable 
Form/ 
Page 

H1. COMAR 31.12.04.06B Name of Group  
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 Citation Description "X" Means 
Applicable 

Form/ 
Page 

H2. COMAR 31.12.04.06A 
COMAR 31.12.04.07A 

Corrections required in master policy also 
required in evidence of coverage 
 

  

 
I. Utilization Review 
 
 Citation Description "X" Means 

Applicable 
Form/ 
Page 

I1.  Initial authorization of course of treatment 
made: 
 

  

§15-10B-06(a)(1)(i), 
Senate Bill 791, Chpt. 
848, Acts of 2024, 
effective 1/1/2025 
 

a. For non-emergencies, within 2 working 
days of receipt of information necessary to 
make determination 
 

  

§15-10B-06(a)(1)(ii) b. For additional health care services, within 1 
working day of receipt of necessary 
information 
 

  

§15-10B-06(a)(1)(iii), 
Senate Bill 791, Chpt. 
848, Acts of 2024, 
effective 1/1/2025 
 

c. For additional visits or days of care 
submitted as part of an existing course of 
treatment, within 1 working day after 
receipt of the necessary information 

  

§15-10B-06(a)(2) 
Senate Bill 791, Chpt 
848, Acts of 2024, 
effective 1/1/2025 
 

d. After receipt of initial request, if more 
information is necessary to make decision, 
inform the provider no more than 3 
calendar days following initial request of 
the need for more information 
 

  

I2. §15-10A-02(f)(1)(ii), 
Senate Bill 791, Chpt. 
848, Acts of 2024, 
effective 1/1/25 

Notice of adverse decision must be provided 
within 5 working days after adverse decision is 
made to member, member’s representative 
and a health care provider acting on behalf of 
the member 
 

  

I3. §15-10B-07(c) May not retroactively deny approval of 
preauthorized services 
 

  

I4. §15-1001 
Title 15, Subtitle 10B 
COMAR 31.10.18, 
Senate Bill 791, Chpt. 
848, Acts of 2024, 
effective 1/1/2025 
COMAR 31.10.18 
 

Company not certified as Private Review Agent 
in Maryland 

  

I5. §15-140(c) When dental plan organization is the receiving 
carrier, the dental plan organization must, upon 
request, accept a preauthorization from the 
relinquishing carrier for the lesser of the course 
of treatment or 90 days 
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J. Applications for Use with Plans Offered Outside of the Exchange 
 
 Citation Description "X" Means 

Applicable 
Form/ 
Page 

J1. §27-805 
 

Insurance Fraud-Required Disclosure 
Statement 
 

  

J2. §15-1210(a)(2) Employer application must allow employer to 
elect to cover part-time employees  
 

  

J3. COMAR 31.04.17.06A Application shall stipulate the plan and amount 
of insurance and any added optional benefits 
applied for 
 

  

J4. COMAR 31.04.17.06I(3) Application must clearly identify coverages 
underwritten by each carrier, when more than 
one carrier uses the same application with the 
same group applicant. 
 

  

J5. 45 CFR §147.102(a)(iv) Employee application may ask question about 
the use of any tobacco product, except 
religious or ceremonial use, on average four or 
more times per week within the period no 
longer than the past 6 months. 

• If yes, then must ask when tobacco 
product was last used 

 

  

J6. COMAR 31.04.17.06I(2) Check-off boxes required for carrier name if 
application is to be used by more than one 
carrier 
 

  

J7. COMAR 31.04.17.06J If application is to be completed by more than 
one individual, application signature box must 
clearly indicate that signature applies only to 
portion of application completed by that 
individual 
 

  

J8. §27-216 
MIA Bulletin 17-10 
 

Requirements for Acceptance of Credit Cards 
for Premium Payment and Charging of Fees 
for Use of Credit Cards 
 

  

J9. COMAR 31.04.17.06B Certain States 
 

  

J10. COMAR 31.04.17.08 Proxy not permitted 
 

  

 


