Notice and Waiver of Increased Limits of

Uninsured Motorist Coverage

Notice Concerning the Waiver of

Increased Limits of Uninsured Motorist

Coverage in Maryland (Private Passenger

Motor Vehicle Liability Coverage)

Maryland law now requires that every insurer

writing private passenger motor vehicle liability

insurance provide uninsured motorist coverage

in an amount equal to the amount of liability

limits provided under the policy, unless waived

by the first named insured. Maryland law also

requires that a policy have at least a minimum

amount of coverage for both liability and

uninsured motorist coverage which is $30,000

per person/$60,000 per accident for bodily injury

and $15,000 per accident for property damage.

If you elected to purchase liability coverage in

excess of the minimum amounts stated above,

Maryland law entitles you to waive that amount

of uninsured motorist coverage that exceeds the

minimum amounts required by law. You, as the

first named insured, must make an affirmative

written waiver to do so. You may then choose

other available lower uninsured motorists limits,
but not less than the minimum amount required

by law.

In the event you fail to make an affirmative

written waiver, the insurance company must

provide uninsured motorist coverage in an

amount equal to the liability coverage.

The insurance company is prohibited from

refusing to issue an insurance policy because

the insured refuses to make a waiver of the

excess uninsured motorist coverage.

Before making your decision, please read the

following carefully: uninsured motorist

coverage provides protection against owners or

operators of uninsured motor vehicles. A motor

vehicle is uninsured if:

1. There is no liability insurance or other

security applicable to the motor vehicle to

pay for damages sustained by others

because of an accident; or

2. There is liability insurance or other security

applicable to the motor vehicle to pay for

such damages but the amount available is less 

than your uninsured motorist coverage;

or

3. It is hit by a vehicle and the owner or

operator of that vehicle cannot be identified.

Uninsured motorists coverage is payable if the

accident is the result of the ownership,

maintenance or use of the uninsured motor

vehicle and you are legally entitled to recover

damages from its owner or operator.

Uninsured motorists - bodily injury protection

covers you and your family members residing in

your household for injuries sustained in an

accident involving an uninsured motor vehicle

unless it is owned by you or your resident

relative(s). Any other person is also covered

while occupying your insured automobile.

Uninsured motorists - property damage

protection covers your insured automobile if it is

damaged in an accident (subject to any

applicable deductible) involving an uninsured

motor vehicle that is not owned by you or your

resident relative(s). It also insures your

property, the property of your resident relative(s)

and other persons occupying your insured

automobile if it is contained in your automobile

at the time of an accident involving an uninsured

motor vehicle.

In order to make an affirmative waiver of

uninsured motorists coverage limits equal to the

liability limits of the policy, you must sign an

affirmative waiver and submit it to your

company. In the event you fail to make an

affirmative written waiver, the insurance

company must provide uninsured motorist

coverage in an amount equal to the liability

coverage.

Waiver of Increased Limits of Uninsured

Motorist Coverage in Maryland (Private

Passenger Motor Vehicle Liability

Coverage)

I confirm that I have fully read and

understood the attached notice.

This is to certify that I am the first named

insured/applicant. I have been offered

uninsured motorists coverage in amounts

equal to my liability limits of $__________ /

$__________ (bodily injury) and $__________

(property damage) or $______________

(combined single limit) at a total premium of

$____________ (annually/policy period*).

I, the first named insured/applicant, have

fully read and understood the above noted

information and hereby: (check one of the

following)

 FORMCHECKBOX 
affirmatively waive this offer and

instead elect to purchase lower

uninsured motorists limits of
$_______/ $_______ (bodily injury)

and $_________ (property damage) or

$_______________ (combined single

limit), at a total premium of

$____________ (annually/policy

period*), subject to the minimum

limits required by Maryland law.

 FORMCHECKBOX 
affirmatively accept this offer.

I understand and agree that this

request shall be construed to be applicable

to the policy or binder of insurance

described below, on all future renewals of

the policy and on all replacement policies

unless I notify the company in writing to the

contrary, with the effective date of such

change being no earlier than the receipt date

by the company of my written notification.

______________________________________
First Named Insured/Applicant

___________________________________________

Signature of First Named Insured/Applicant

________________
_____________________

Date 


Policy/Binder #

___________________________________________
Insurer

__________________
_____________________

Producer Name 

Producer Code

(* Editorial note: These items are variable information

that must be provided by the insurer. The waiver must

be in 10 point boldface type per §19-510(d)(3)).
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