
Make certain you provide the same information to each 
company or producer (agent or broker), and that you compare policies that offer the same
coverages and have the same deductible(s) and coverage limits. This way, you can make sure
you are comparing “apples to apples” and will be able to tell how much money, if any, you are
actually saving. You may want to contact several insurance companies or producers, as well as
asking your relatives and friends for recommendations. In addition, some banks, employers and
special interest groups offer insurance directly to their members. 

COMPARISON SHOP

ASK FOR PRICE QUOTES

When you call an insurance company or producer, typically you will be asked: the
make/model/year of vehicle, number of average annual miles, region in which you live, the types
of coverages you want and the dollar limit for each of those coverages, and information about
your driving record (accidents or violations). Make sure the information you provide is accurate
and that you provide the same information to each producer or company that you call. Also,
keep in mind that one insurance group often includes many companies (not just the ones listed
in our guide), and the rates and/or underwriting requirements may be different for each
company within the group. Ask the producer about other companies in the group.
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A deductible is the amount you agree to be
responsible for in the event of damage to your
vehicle (i.e. accident, fire or vandalism) before
the insurance company makes any payments. If
you select a high deductible, you will pay more
out of your own pocket for any damage or loss;
however, your premium should be lower.

ASK ABOUT DEDUCTIBLES

ASK FOR DISCOUNTS 
To help keep your premium down, ask what
discounts the company offers (i.e. security or
safety devices, good-driving record, defensive-
driving courses, good student, etc.) and if you
qualify for any of them. Understand how the
company decides what your policy will cost. 

https://insurance.maryland.gov/
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PIP coverage will reimburse you (or others named on your policy) for reasonable and necessary
medical expenses resulting from an auto accident, as well as lost wages. This reimbursement
will be made regardless of who caused the accident. Maryland law requires insurers to offer
their policyholders at least $2,500 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. You may elect
to purchase limited PIP coverage and certain individuals may be able to fully reject PIP
coverage. If you currently have full Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage and also have
health insurance, you may want to give some consideration to whether the duplication of
coverage is worth the additional premium you are paying. Consult your insurance producer or
insurer for a thorough explanation of all of your options. Also check your health care policy and
consult your insurer or insurance producer about this coverage. Keep in mind that PIP pays
lost wages and your household members’ medical expenses, which are not covered under
health care policies, up to the limit, which is typically $2,500. Your insurer may offer higher PIP
limits at an increased cost.

Under Maryland law, insurers may not use your credit history to decide if they will insure you,
cancel you, renew you or increase your premium. However, insurers may use your credit history
when you apply for coverage to determine what rate you will be paying for your auto
insurance. Not all insurers use credit history and you may obtain auto insurance through
insurers that do not use credit. For those insurers that do use credit, they are required to tell
you at the time you apply for the insurance that they will consider your credit history. If you
ask, an insurer must tell you how much of your premium is as a result of your credit score. For
those insurers that use credit history to determine a portion of your premium, they are
required to review your credit history every two years, or you can request the insurer to do so
once during each policy term. The insurer may decrease your premium if your credit history
improves. The insurer cannot use your credit history to increase your premium at renewal even
if your credit deteriorates from what it was when you applied for your policy.

CHECK YOUR CREDIT REPORT 

PERSONAL INJURY PROTECTION (PIP) 

The Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA) is the state agency that regulates the business of
insurance in Maryland. If you want to learn more about Shopping for Auto Insurance, the MIA’s
"A Comparison Guide for Rates," to get an idea of costs. This brochure is available on our
website at www.insurance.maryland.gov or by calling us at 800-492-6116 to request a copy.                
Now we have an interactive guide for you:
https://insurance.maryland.gov/Consumer/Pages/Auto-Insurance-A-Comparison-Guide-To-Rates.aspx

CONTACT MARYLAND INSURANCE ADMINISTRATION
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