

What You Should Know About Shopping For Auto Insurance

Consumer Education and Advocacy Unit

What is the Maryland Insurance Administration



The Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA) is the state agency that regulates insurance in Maryland. The MIA:

- Licenses insurers and insurance producers (agents or brokers).
- Examines the business practices of licensees to ensure compliance.
- Monitors solvency of insurers.
- Reviews/approves insurance policy forms.
- Reviews insurance rates to ensure rates are not inadequate, excessive or unfairly discriminatory.
- Investigates consumer and provider complaints and allegations of fraud.



Automobile Insurance Coverage



Auto insurance coverage may include several types of protection options.

However, Maryland state law requires all registered vehicle owners to purchase

certain minimum protections and coverage levels.



Maryland law requires all registered vehicle owners to carry a minimum amount of liability coverage. The coverage required by law is:

- \$30,000 for bodily injury per person
- \$60,000 bodily injury per accident; and
- \$15,000 property damage



So what is Automobile Liability Insurance?

Liability Insurance protects policyholders and other insureds when the policyholder (or a legal driver they have allowed to drive their vehicle) causes an accident.

There are two types of liability coverage



Liability Insurance – protects policyholders and other insureds when they cause an accident. There are two types of liability coverage:

- Bodily injury liability coverage Protects you if the driver of your car causes an accident and an injured person makes a claim or files a lawsuit against you, unless the driver of your car is excluded or does not have a reasonable belief they are entitled to drive your vehicle.
- Property damage liability Protects you if the driver of your car causes an accident resulting in damage to someone else's property, like another vehicle or other property, such as a fence, unless the driver of your car is excluded or does not have a reasonable belief they are entitled to drive your vehicle.



Uninsured Motorist (UM) coverage – protects you and other insureds under your policy's terms when an accident is caused by a driver who does not have auto insurance coverage, does not have enough liability insurance, or when the owner of the at fault vehicle cannot be identified such as in the case of a hit-and-run.

Maryland Law requires all registered vehicle owners to carry a minimum amount of UM. The coverage required by law is:

- \$30,000 for bodily injury per person
- \$60,000 bodily injury per accident; and
- \$15,000 property damage



Optional Coverages

Collision Coverage – an optional coverage that you purchase to provide for payment of property damage to your insured vehicle from a collision with another vehicle or object. If you are in an accident and have collision coverage, your insurer will pay to repair your vehicle or will pay you what your vehicle was worth right before the accident occurred if your vehicle is a total loss.

Comprehensive Coverage – pays for damage to your car resulting from causes other than a collision, like vandalism, theft, or storm damage.







© 2007 Kevin Spear kevin@kevinspear.com www.kevinspear.com



A full list of all of the optional coverages is available in our *Consumer Guide to Auto Insurance* that you can find at: <u>www.insurance.maryland.gov</u>



Declarations Page

Your Insurer 3535 Second Street Company Town, USA 54321		Policy number Policy period:	Effective date:	Expiration date:
		6 months	January 1, 2020	July 1, 2020
Auto Insu	rance Policy	<sample></sample>		
Year	Make	Model	Vehicle ID Number (VIN)	
2011	Chevrolet	Camaro	2FZMPONW34X	
Lienholder				
The Bank		310 Main St	treet, Company Town, USA	\$ 54321
Coverages	2	Policy limits	Deductibles	
Liability: Bodily injury		\$30,000 per person \$60,000 per accident	Collision	\$500 🕄
Liability: Property damage		\$15,000 per accident	Comprehensive	\$100
Uninsured/Underinsured motorist bodily injury		\$30,000 per person \$60,000 per accident	Policy premium	\$640 5
Uninsured/Underinsured property damage		\$15,000 per accident	Discounts applied	
			Multiple vehicle	
Optional coverage		Limits	Home/Auto/Life	
Roadside assistance Rental car reimbursement		\$100 per occurrence \$30 per day \$1,000 maximum	Mature driver	U
			Claim record/Customer longevity	
			Air bags/Anti-lock brakes	
			Premium paid in full	

A **Declarations Page** is an overview of your insurance policy that your insurer will give you every time your policy renews. It is important to remember that this is **NOT** your insurance policy - it is only a summary of the coverages.

The Declarations Page will include the name of the insurer, the name of the policyholder(s) and the date of the new policy period.



Declarations Page

The Declarations Page will list all of the vehicles covered by the policy and what coverages apply to each vehicle. It will also list any lienholders.

It is very important that you review the Declarations Page as soon as you get it to be sure that the information for each insured vehicle is accurate and that you know what your policy will cover. If you see any incorrect or missing information, you should contact your insurance producer or insurer immediately.



Your Insurer 3535 Second Street Company Town, USA 54321		Policy number Policy period: 6 months	XX-XXXXXXX-XX Effective date: January 1, 2020	Expiration date: July 1, 2020
Auto Insu	rance Policy <	<sample></sample>		
Year	Make	Model	Vehicle ID Number (VIN)	
2011	Chevrolet	Camaro	2FZMPONW34X	
Lienholder				
The Bank		310 Main St	reet, Company Town, USA	\$4321
Coverages 2		Policy limits	Deductibles	
Liability: Bodily injury		530,000 per person 560,000 per accident	Collision	\$500 3
Liability: Property damage		15,000 per accident	Comprehensive	\$100
Uninsured/Underinsured motorist bodily injury		530,000 per person 560,000 per accident	Policy premium	\$640 5
Uninsured/Underinsured property damage		15,000 per accident	Discounts applied	
			Multiple vehicle	
Optional coverage		.imits	Home/Auto/Life	-
Roadside assistance		100 per occurrence	Mature driver	
Rental car reimbursement		30 per day 1,000 maximum	Claim record/Customer longevity Air bags/Anti-lock brakes Premium paid in full	

How are automobile insurance rates determined?

There is a wide variety of criteria considered to help the insurer in predicting the likelihood that you will be in an accident or to file a claim.

- Age
- Sex
- Marital Status
- Number of miles driven annually
- Driving record



- Credit history
- Purpose vehicle is being driven for (vehicle use)
- The location of where the vehicle is garaged
- Driving experience
- Claims history



Why do automobile insurance rates increase?

- General rate increase Sometimes the premiums collected by an insurer may not be enough to support the projected costs of the claims. When this occurs, an insurer may file with the Maryland Insurance Administration a request for a general rate increase, which the MIA must approve.
- Policyholders rate increase Policyholders who receive tickets, or are involved in accidents may see a rate increase.



What can you do? – Comparison shop

Comparison shop by looking to see if you can obtain those same coverages from another insurer at a lower cost.

- ✓Make sure you compare policies that offer the same types of coverage with the same deductibles and coverage limits.
- ✓Make sure the information you provide is accurate and that you provide the same information to each insurer you call.
- \checkmark Ask about deductibles and when they apply.



What can you do? – Comparison shop

 \checkmark Ask about what is covered and what is excluded.

- ✓ Do not buy an insurance policy based solely on its price consider the coverages, limits and the customer service, including claims service before you buy.
- ✓ Ask friends and neighbors about their experience with difference insurers.
- ✓Ask your insurer whether there are any discounts that might be available to you (good driver discounts, multi-policy, multi-vehicle, protective device). Not all insurers offer the same discounts.



Rate Guide







Auto Insurance 10 Tips

Consumer Education and Advocacy Unit



Understand the difference between liability, collision and comprehensive insurance





Think carefully about your deductibles





Think carefully about your coverage limits





What about PIP?





Understand how your credit affects your auto insurance rate





Comparison shop





If you plan to drive with a rideshare company, notify your insurer





Consider Gap insurance





Understand What You Need to Know Before Canceling Your Auto Insurance





Know how to file a complaint with the Maryland Insurance Administration



Contact Information

Maryland Insurance Administration 800-492-6116 or 410-468-2000 www.insurance.maryland.gov



Maryland Insurance Administration



Maryland Insurance Administration





marylandinsuranceadmin



MD_Insurance